We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful lunch break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hormiga

La Hormiga
Reforma & Gomez Farias, Oaxaca, Mexico
(951)-50-3-88-06
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 317 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delightful lunch break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Today, following the suggestion of others of your reviewers, I took a noontime walk and had lunch at La Hormiga sandwich stand in Conzatti Park. I chose the popular Cubana and embellished it with their excellent salsa rojo. It was definitely delicious and the entire experience was delightful as I sat near the fountain to enjoy my lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OaxVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best tortas in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had quite a few tortas in the 10 days I spent in Oaxaca, some in restaurants/cafes and some from street vendors. This was by far the best I had. 20 pesos and delicious. Need I say more.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Comradeotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get the cubano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited the food truck rather than the restaurant...its a wonderful spot to grab a torta. You can just walk into the park and eat it fountainside....lovely

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PamChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Need a quick sandwich. This is the place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This little sandwich stand in Conzatti Park and the puesto around the corner from the Zocalo are both great stops for a grilled sandwich. You can find it on the corner, because of the people grouped around it. You order on the left and get your drink. When your number is called you get your sandwich. In the meanwhile you watch the workers hustle. It's a good show.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank atriportwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic tortas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

La Hormiga is always my choice when I need a quick, tasty, filling torta (sandwich). Their bolillos (rolls) are fresh and they have a great selection of ingredients. I highly recommend the Cubana which has everything but the milanese is also a favorite. La Hormiga is on the south east corner of Jardin Conzatti, a lovely park. Take your torta and a cool drink and find a place in the park to enjoy lunch with the Oaxqueños.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oaxacaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hormiga also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to La Hormiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing