We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful lunch break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hormiga

La Hormiga
Reforma & Gomez Farias, Oaxaca, Mexico
(951)-50-3-88-06
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 275 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delightful lunch break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Today, following the suggestion of others of your reviewers, I took a noontime walk and had lunch at La Hormiga sandwich stand in Conzatti Park. I chose the popular Cubana and embellished it with their excellent salsa rojo. It was definitely delicious and the entire experience was delightful as I sat near the fountain to enjoy my lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best tortas in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had quite a few tortas in the 10 days I spent in Oaxaca, some in restaurants/cafes and some from street vendors. This was by far the best I had. 20 pesos and delicious. Need I say more.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get the cubano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited the food truck rather than the restaurant...its a wonderful spot to grab a torta. You can just walk into the park and eat it fountainside....lovely

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Need a quick sandwich. This is the place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This little sandwich stand in Conzatti Park and the puesto around the corner from the Zocalo are both great stops for a grilled sandwich. You can find it on the corner, because of the people grouped around it. You order on the left and get your drink. When your number is called you get your sandwich. In the meanwhile you watch the workers hustle. It's a good show.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic tortas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

La Hormiga is always my choice when I need a quick, tasty, filling torta (sandwich). Their bolillos (rolls) are fresh and they have a great selection of ingredients. I highly recommend the Cubana which has everything but the milanese is also a favorite. La Hormiga is on the south east corner of Jardin Conzatti, a lovely park. Take your torta and a cool drink and find a place in the park to enjoy lunch with the Oaxqueños.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hormiga also viewed

 

Been to La Hormiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hormiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.