We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origen Oaxaca

Origen Oaxaca
Hidalgo 820, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
(951)501 1764
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 243 restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have visited most of the culinary and exquisite locations in Italy, Spain, France, Portugal, USA to name a few. However, dining @ Origen @ 820 Miguel Hidalgo in Oaxaca, Mexico was a pleasurable experience. we had several meals between lunch and dinner and thoroughly enjoyed every bite in every dish. We would certainly visit Oaxaca again just to enjoy having lunch and dinner @ Origen. The staff and the management are professional, friendly and helpful in explaining the menu choices and its ingredients which are all fresh organic brought directly from farm. The atmosphere of the restaurant is tasteful and unpretentious. This was the highlight of our vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    71
    19
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After reading the great reviews of this place, I had to check it out. Started off with a tostada of fried sweetbreads, avocado, and pasilla chiles. Delicious. Main course was a crispy pork belly over rice and beans, topped with a mango and red onion slaw. Out of this world. The pork belly was nice and crisp on the outside, while maintaining a warm and tender center. Pair that with a glass of syrah, and I had a perfect meal. My friend had the squid ink pasta, which was also very good. Attentive service, a great view into the open kitchen, and when the bill arrived I couldn't believe what a great value it was. Kudos to the chef!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious food with picnic table seating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were a group of 6 with a baby in a stroller. They sat us at a brightly painted picnic table.The bench was very heavy, almost immobile, so some of us had to climb up to sit down.The six of us started off with 3 appetizers, all delicious, and scraped the plates clean. The main entrées were delightfully prepared, using local ingredients, colorfully presented, but there was still room for dessert. We shared three desserts, but nobody complained of being stuffed, i.e. food was light and portions were satisfying. We finished off with a coffee, and all agreed that the food was tasty and original. I didn't think the wine list was very interesting; there was nothing that caught my eye. Service was nice. The chef asked us how things were, and was interested in our reactions. We easily shared that the food was excellent. This restaurant is definitely about taste and presentation. Top notch and original, just like the name.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Remy de Provence
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Multum in parvo....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We came upon the Origen quite by chance - the entrance is not obvious and the restaurant is small.
The rib-eye and duck we had were quite superb. There was also a wide choice of local Mexican cuisine and a good wine list. Understated but very classy and excellent service. It is difficult to understand why they do not promote themselves more obviously on the street. Well worth looking for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax beach, florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Local ingredients, international style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Chef Rudolfo Castellanos takes the amazing variety of ingredients available locally to a new level. Seriously good food well presented. I enjoyed a lovely piece of dorado, atop rice, surrounded by a chorizo broth. Terrific flavors and the best excuse for drinking red wine with fish. Origen also offers a cheese plate with four Oaxaqueno cheeses accompanied by a tart/sweet tomato 'jam'. Great wine selection and a good tempranillo by the glass.

Best restaurant meal on my trip to Oaxaca.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origen Oaxaca also viewed

 

Been to Origen Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origen Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.