We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with picnic table seating.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Origen Oaxaca

Origen Oaxaca
Hidalgo 820, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
(951)501 1764
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 267 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Delicious food with picnic table seating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were a group of 6 with a baby in a stroller. They sat us at a brightly painted picnic table.The bench was very heavy, almost immobile, so some of us had to climb up to sit down.The six of us started off with 3 appetizers, all delicious, and scraped the plates clean. The main entrées were delightfully prepared, using local ingredients, colorfully presented, but there was still room for dessert. We shared three desserts, but nobody complained of being stuffed, i.e. food was light and portions were satisfying. We finished off with a coffee, and all agreed that the food was tasty and original. I didn't think the wine list was very interesting; there was nothing that caught my eye. Service was nice. The chef asked us how things were, and was interested in our reactions. We easily shared that the food was excellent. This restaurant is definitely about taste and presentation. Top notch and original, just like the name.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    22
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Remy de Provence
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Multum in parvo....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We came upon the Origen quite by chance - the entrance is not obvious and the restaurant is small.
The rib-eye and duck we had were quite superb. There was also a wide choice of local Mexican cuisine and a good wine list. Understated but very classy and excellent service. It is difficult to understand why they do not promote themselves more obviously on the street. Well worth looking for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax beach, florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Local ingredients, international style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Chef Rudolfo Castellanos takes the amazing variety of ingredients available locally to a new level. Seriously good food well presented. I enjoyed a lovely piece of dorado, atop rice, surrounded by a chorizo broth. Terrific flavors and the best excuse for drinking red wine with fish. Origen also offers a cheese plate with four Oaxaqueno cheeses accompanied by a tart/sweet tomato 'jam'. Great wine selection and a good tempranillo by the glass.

Best restaurant meal on my trip to Oaxaca.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Two Fabulous Dinners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited Oaxaca three weeks ago. Our first night we all went to Origen for dinner. The food is wonderful and the drinks delicious and well priced. The menu is fresh and with fewer choices than a regular restaurant. If you are into food~ really good food, I would definitely enjoy this restaurant. We all liked it so much, we decided to make it our farewell dinner restaurant 8 days later!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“best gourmet restaurant in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

There are many fine restaurants serving good Oaxacan food. The simple ones cost about US$3 for a good meal, the more upscale ones about US$10. I wanted to try some top end gourmet ones that offer New style Mexican or fusion cooking and that is what I am reviewing. They all cost about US$20 unless noted. Service and ambiance is good at all the ones I tried.

5 stars: The best one by far is Origen. It has an extremely varied menu and I went several times and ate Duck breast and confit of Duck leg, rack of lamb, confit of suckling goat, sweetbreads, pigs feet terrine cassoulet, Quail and also Mexican standards served in New style . Each is served with vegetables and garnishes that are uncommon in other restaurants.

4 stars: I also went to Danzantes, Catedral and Casa Oaxaca. These were all good and similar price except Casa Oaxaca which is about $35 average. They each had one or two unusual dishes but menus were mainly Mexican standard but served more attractively often in new style.

2 stars: I also went to Café Bistrot Epicurio. Same price but pretty disappointing.

Several of these have one or 2 microbrewery beers but Origen has 8 to choose from.

I have written reviews of all these others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origen Oaxaca also viewed

 

Been to Origen Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origen Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.