We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with picnic table seating.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Origen Oaxaca

Origen Oaxaca
Hidalgo 820, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
(951)501 1764
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 275 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious food with picnic table seating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were a group of 6 with a baby in a stroller. They sat us at a brightly painted picnic table.The bench was very heavy, almost immobile, so some of us had to climb up to sit down.The six of us started off with 3 appetizers, all delicious, and scraped the plates clean. The main entrées were delightfully prepared, using local ingredients, colorfully presented, but there was still room for dessert. We shared three desserts, but nobody complained of being stuffed, i.e. food was light and portions were satisfying. We finished off with a coffee, and all agreed that the food was tasty and original. I didn't think the wine list was very interesting; there was nothing that caught my eye. Service was nice. The chef asked us how things were, and was interested in our reactions. We easily shared that the food was excellent. This restaurant is definitely about taste and presentation. Top notch and original, just like the name.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    30
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Remy de Provence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Multum in parvo....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We came upon the Origen quite by chance - the entrance is not obvious and the restaurant is small.
The rib-eye and duck we had were quite superb. There was also a wide choice of local Mexican cuisine and a good wine list. Understated but very classy and excellent service. It is difficult to understand why they do not promote themselves more obviously on the street. Well worth looking for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax beach, florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Local ingredients, international style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Chef Rudolfo Castellanos takes the amazing variety of ingredients available locally to a new level. Seriously good food well presented. I enjoyed a lovely piece of dorado, atop rice, surrounded by a chorizo broth. Terrific flavors and the best excuse for drinking red wine with fish. Origen also offers a cheese plate with four Oaxaqueno cheeses accompanied by a tart/sweet tomato 'jam'. Great wine selection and a good tempranillo by the glass.

Best restaurant meal on my trip to Oaxaca.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Two Fabulous Dinners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited Oaxaca three weeks ago. Our first night we all went to Origen for dinner. The food is wonderful and the drinks delicious and well priced. The menu is fresh and with fewer choices than a regular restaurant. If you are into food~ really good food, I would definitely enjoy this restaurant. We all liked it so much, we decided to make it our farewell dinner restaurant 8 days later!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best gourmet restaurant in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

There are many fine restaurants serving good Oaxacan food. The simple ones cost about US$3 for a good meal, the more upscale ones about US$10. I wanted to try some top end gourmet ones that offer New style Mexican or fusion cooking and that is what I am reviewing. They all cost about US$20 unless noted. Service and ambiance is good at all the ones I tried.

5 stars: The best one by far is Origen. It has an extremely varied menu and I went several times and ate Duck breast and confit of Duck leg, rack of lamb, confit of suckling goat, sweetbreads, pigs feet terrine cassoulet, Quail and also Mexican standards served in New style . Each is served with vegetables and garnishes that are uncommon in other restaurants.

4 stars: I also went to Danzantes, Catedral and Casa Oaxaca. These were all good and similar price except Casa Oaxaca which is about $35 average. They each had one or two unusual dishes but menus were mainly Mexican standard but served more attractively often in new style.

2 stars: I also went to Café Bistrot Epicurio. Same price but pretty disappointing.

Several of these have one or 2 microbrewery beers but Origen has 8 to choose from.

I have written reviews of all these others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origen Oaxaca also viewed

 

Been to Origen Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origen Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.