We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger but extremely unfriendly waiter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Quinque

El Quinque
Macedonio Alcala 901 Esq. Gomez Farias Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
951- 5026702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 261 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great burger but extremely unfriendly waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty burger at a great price. However, one of the waiters seemed to be in a fowl mood, glaring at everyone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    24
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara,Mexico
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood central restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We enjoyed first the ambiance of this small faily riun restaurant,just north of the Santa Domingo church.
We could tell that customers were making repeated visits, a good sign.
With innovative cuisine a.nd something for everybody's tastes,we sat back to enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Probably the best burger in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We went to El Quinque for the highly recommended hamburgers and came away with the desire to try everything on the menu! This little place has a delightfully varied menu. The lasagna arriving at the neighboring table looked so great that we almost abandoned the burger idea but we were so happy we did not! The burgers were wonderful, just like homemade. The beef was very tasty and nicely spiced. We will be back in a heartbeat! Oh, and the accompanying potatoes were very good as well! What a find!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best deal in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Excellent food at a terrific price. The ever changing "menu del dia" is always delightful. The hamburger is the best in Mexico. The chefs and servers are friendly and obviously enjoy their work. The music selection is stellar ranging from blues, classic rock, gypsy swing to Johnny Cash. We eat here frequentlly and notice that other's who have discovered this treasure also eat here on a regular basis.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todos Santos, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything is good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This restaurant was not far from where we stayed and we happened upon on our first night after picking up a few grocery items. It was a Saturday night and they had 2 specials - BBQ ribs and Pork tacos. We had an order of each and both were delicious. We ate there a second time and my husband had macaroni with shrimp and mushrooms and I had the fish (dorado) and shrimp - both again were delicious. The food is far different from the regular Mexican fare which is a nice change. Most of the people eating at the restaurant appeared to be gringos (we walked by it every night). And the special part - I am diabetic and can't (or should not) eat rice or potatoes, which is often the side dish. Also, I should eat lots of vegetables, which is difficult in Mexico as they are not commonly served. I asked Carlos if he would substitute any rice or potatoes that came with the meal with a double salad (a small salad comes with the meal). He was very accommodating and it was the best salad I had the whole time I was here. Great food, great service - we will probably dine there our last night here too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quinque also viewed

 

Been to El Quinque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Quinque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.