We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Keep Coming Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Quinque

El Quinque
Macedonio Alcala 901 Esq. Gomez Farias Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
951- 5026702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 271 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, International, Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Yarker, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We Keep Coming Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food here is well-cooked, plentiful, and reasonably priced. The Shrimp in Garlic Sauce was wonderful, and the stuffed chicken breast was delicious. If you're feeling homesick, their burger and home fries is also delicious. Lots of fresh vegetables, or a salad, accompany every dish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    32
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
1 review
“neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a fantastic find. WE were staying at Los Arquitos around the corner so it is close. It also does not serve liquor so it is BYOB. The food and atmosphere are friendly. The food i good, small, maybe 6 tables downstairs. cash only but inexpensive and good. it seemed to be very popular with gringos, really didn't see native eating there. not sure why as the food is good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I ate lunch at this cute little restaurant and had a lovely time. Very clean and really good food. I heard a gentleman at the next table raving about the coconut shrimp and am planning them for my next visit! Reasonable prices and, by the way, a great hamburger.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I shared a steak dinner, which came with plenty of salad for each of us, and a bit of potato and broccoli. Splitting a dinner made it very economical, and there was plenty of good-tasting food (the salad was especially memorable) for the two of us. I recommend this place without reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Beach, MI
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food in an informal setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This family-run restaurant on the north end of Alcala is one of the few we've eaten at in Oaxaca that serves a salad and vegetables with dinner, so if you're feeling vegetable-deprived--and you very well may be after a few days in this city--Quinque is a good choice. I had what were called chicken fajitas, and though it wasn't what I expected, it was good. My wife and our dinner companions had fish and liked it. Prices are reasonable and service is good. Quinque is very popular among gringos, possibly from the short-stay apartments on this end of town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quinque also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to El Quinque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Quinque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.