We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Oaxaca to your Saves list
Casa Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GUADALAJARA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I haven't stayed at all the hotels in Oaxaca city, but I'm pretty sure it'll be near to impossible to find a better option. Their customer service is second to none. Exquisite food. Lovely place. Quiet and cozy rooms. Very well located. Did I mention how excellent their customer service is? I was there with my wife and her mother for 3 nights and we spent a great time here. Like a second home. Ana, Erick, Esmeralda, Florencio... all of them treated us really nice, they helped us with some reservations, helped us to provide a very tasty "caldo de pollo" for my wife's mom since she felt sick one night, they even helped us to find a hairbrush.

I'm very pleased we decide to stay here. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Based only on customer service and food quality, the value/price relationship is great. 100% recommended. I'll come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
87
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have chosen Casa Oaxaca hotel based on our dinner experience in this hotel which we have had when we were in Oaxaca in 2005. On our arrival we were greeted and welcomed by Antonio and Anna who offered us a drink @ the beautiful courtyard. From there on, our week stay was superb in every respect. The room we had was spacious and tastefully decorated with beautiful fresh flowers. All our needs and requests were met efficiently. An added bonus is enjoying the swimming pool in a beautiful setting of flowers. The management including the manger Augustine and Antonio were very helpful. These experiences were enhanced by the personal service of the staff. It is a pleasurable experience to enjoy having breakfast, lunch or dinner in this unique and serene courtyard at the hotel. Florencio at breakfast and lunch was professional and efficient. One of the many greatest assets in the hotel is Sous Chef Rafael. We were lucky to experience personalized superb lunch and a four course dinner that Rafael had prepared outside the menu. The dinner was a unique experience of great flavours. Definitely we would stay again in Casa Oaxaca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you are coming to beautiful Oaxaca I cannot think of another place to stay than Casa Oaxaca. Under chef Alejandro´s competent hands this special hideway is what makes Oaxaca even more incredible. From the welcoming and friendly staff, to the spacious and comfortable rooms this small hotel delivers its guests a serene and joyful experience. The breakfast served in the central courtyard is amazing, with choices from local cuisine to traditional continental fare. This is truly the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Casa Oaxaca restaurant is perched atop a building right in the heart of el centro de Oaxaca. The food (much of it organic) was delicious! Even the appetizer, a blue corn tortilla with queso and salsa (prepared at your table ) was truly wonderful. I had the fish of the day and the salad of the day. Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I chose Casa Oaxaca based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews, and the reviews were right on. The hotel is in the middle of the Centro Historico, easy walking distance to all the great Mexican restaurants, entertainment, and landmarks. The rooms are simply, but nicely, appointed. The interior structure is very attractive. The breakfasts are excellent. But most of all, the staff is outstanding. They are quick and careful to meet your every request, whether it is emails about your reservation, extra water, a glass of wine or mezcal, departure from the menu, finding a good tour guide, or a good recommendation for dinner. From hour one, everyone seemed to know my name. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel in the center of Oaxaca. Great location, with cafés down the street, restaurants and touristic spots within walking distance. The rooms are alright, nothing too special. You get the value for what you're paying. They have everything you need, without any luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This this is our fifth visit and we are always treated like family. The staff is truly amazing- very, very friendly and extremly helpful. The food is superb. The new chef, Rafael, who is from Oaxaca, is an expert at combining traditional Oaxacan cooking with a modern focus. He did a custom menu for us that was truly amazing! We did a cooking class with Alejandro- we learned a whole lot, had a great time and another amazing meal. Of coure, the rooms and grounds were as wonderful as always. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#4 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#29 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#16 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oaxaca

Address: Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Casa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.