We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Oaxaca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Oaxaca to your Saves list
Casa Oaxaca
Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
tunbridge wells uk
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

From the street Casa Oaxaca looks just like another terraced house but once you have found the bell you find a hidden gem inside. All the main rooms look out onto the main patio and we thought our room might be noisy but folk seem to go to bed early after a hard day's sightseeing so we had no problems on this score. The room was a little dark but very well appointed with plenty of lights for reading in the evenings. The breakfast in the patio was excellent and there is a large room with a computer if you do not wish to use the wi-fi. The situation of the hotel could not be better and you are only 5 minutes from the Zocalo and the same from the excellent Casa Oaxaca restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
78
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, Maine
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a 7 room hotel with rooms that open onto a lovely interior atrium. While it is centrally located in downtown Oaxaca, it is quiet, friendly, and has a very helpful staff. On our first night in the hotel we made a reservation in the restaurant. It turned out that we were the only guests that evening so we dined in the atrium with our own waiter and chef who explained the preparation of every dish on the limited menu. The food was wonderful, the service was outstanding, and the ambiance was out of this world. It was an outstanding experience.
Our room was ample with a large lounge chair, and while the bathroom was somewhat small it was adequate. There were fresh flowers and bottled water in the room. The swimming pool was beautiful.
Breakfast was included and was delicious. There was fresh fruit, juice, various egg dishes, warm bread, oatmeal, cereal and great coffee. It is served in the atrium, on a table covered with a pristine white cloth by very nice and efficient staff.
Our most outstanding experience was the cooking lesson that is offered once a week by Alexandro the chef at the large Casa Oaxaca restaurant. He is an enthusiastic food lover and conveyed his love of his craft and his pride in his country's food in an energetic and fum manner. We began (there were 5 of us) by meeting at the hotel and planning the menu then it was off to the cab to go to the Mercado Abastos where folks from the countryside gather to sell their produce. The market trip was a cultural immersion- there were people of varying ethnicity, unknown (to me) fruits and vegetables, and dried beans and chilies galore. It was an incredible experience to walk the market with a chef, experience his exuberance, and learn a bit about another culture. We then returned to the hotel, cooked for 3 hours and ate la wonderful unch at 3 pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool or in the rear of the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When it comes to colonial architecture, this hotel is as good as it gets. But the delights do not end there ...

Room - in keeping with the rest of the hotel, our room was as charming and generously appointed. It was cosy and very comfortable.

Location - the hotel is conveniently located in Oaxaca's centro historico, which means it is a short walk from sights, restaurants, cafes and shops.

Food - their impressive breakfast menu includes a number of delicious Mexican dishes. The chef is clearly very talented. Make sure you book for dinner as the kitchen will close if there are no bookings.

Staff and concierge - I seldom mention names in my reviews, but Antonio is simply a standout. He assisted us with complex transport requirements across Mexico and booked local trips for us, like mountain biking. He is also very knowledgeable, extremely helpful and in our case, also very patient.

Room Tip: If you will be using wi-fi a lot, choose a room that is closest to reception. The wi-fi was a bit p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughter and I spent 6 nights in Oaxaca, five at the Casa Oaxaca. Before departing on the trip I had numerous emails back and forth with Mr. A.Aquino, he was extremely helpful and kind.
He made my various dinner reservations and answered all the questions I had about his lovely town.
I mention him in particular, but, the entire staff at the hotel were fantastic.
Our room was comfortable and quiet, the linens were nice and every night a small treat was left for us.
Breakfast was served either in your room or outside in the lovely patio..in the morning it can be a bit cool so there were soft blankets to use as a wrap along with the heaters.
All the little touches were thoughtful.
.
The location was perfect, the area around the hotel was interesting and you could walk to all the sites in town.
This is not a fancy hotel but a lovely place that fits right in to setting of the town..you could not ask for more.

Room Tip: I should think all the rooms would be adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Oaxaca is a colonial city and Casa Oaxaca captures it's flavor but offers a fresh well designed hotel. This is a white adobe with a beautiful courtyard dominated by a flowering tree. Most rooms open onto the courtyard where a delicious breakfast is served. The service is excellent; the staff is helpful and welcoming and the location is quiet but walking distance to town. Cas Oaxaca also has two nearby restaurants that offer the best food in Oaxaca. The chef is local but trained in Europe. Fresh seafood from the coast; Moles the tradition of the region; squash blossoms tempured... you can not go wrong. The ambience of all Casa Oaxaca enterprises is of great design sense and quality down to their own Mescal!! Fabulous on all counts

Room Tip: The duplex by the pool is more $$ but the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

2 nights in this beautiful hotel in the colonial center of Oaxaca. The city is amazing and the hotel ideally located.
The staff is very nice, concierge service as well.

There are not many rooms, indeed the hotel is calm and quiet. There is a small garden with a nice swimming pool, very intimate.

Rooms are big and clean. Not very modern but confortable.

The restaurant is delicious and the chef very nice and very very talented. We did not do it but they offer Mezcal tasting.
breakfast is also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

like at home. beautiful antique house remodeled , all white. quite rooms. ool. Breafçkfast service ina delightful patio with a very personal service from the cooks, and servers, .
Very quiet and calm. Feel very safe and homey

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oaxaca

Address: Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Casa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.