We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Oaxaca

Save Saved
You added Casa Oaxaca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Oaxaca
Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

like at home. beautiful antique house remodeled , all white. quite rooms. ool. Breafçkfast service ina delightful patio with a very personal service from the cooks, and servers, .
Very quiet and calm. Feel very safe and homey

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
60
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for a week and couldn't have been happier. The staff was exceptional. We were welcomed the first night with mescalini drinks on the casa. The next night the staff arranged a fiesta where they showed us how to make mochete salsa and more mescalini. All of it was complimentary. The staff arranged everything we wanted to do in Oaxaca--arranging Spanish classes for us, an amazing English speaking tour guide for Monte Alban AND we took a cooking class in the kitchen here with Chef Alejandro, which included a trip to the markets to buy food. He is one of the best chefs in Oaxaca, and it was a truly amazing experience to learn from him. The staff was so sweet--at one point I lost an earring and thought it was gone forever. I left the one I still had on the table, and at some point the cleaning staff found the missing one and put it next to the other one--I never told anyone I lost it! We had fresh flowers in our room (3 different arrangements over the course of the week). It was very restful and lovely to lay by the pool as well. Noise in the courtyard can be heard from the rooms facing it but it is dependent on how loud the other guests are. We will be coming back to beautiful Oaxaca and we never want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent one week at Casa Oaxaca. I was able to walk to everything in the city (excursions to Monte Alban and the neighboring artist villages could be easily arranged). The room was lovely with fresh flowers and attention to detail. The drinks and meals were a highlight. The staff was friendly, attentive, and respectful of your needs. The restoration of this centuries-old private home was so well done that I photographed the spaces, artwork, and cacti as aesthetic groupings. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have been to a variety of hotels and many seem good or excellent but yet there is a feeling that the owners are 'putting on a show' for the sake of keeping the clients happy. This hotel differs in that you have the impression that the staff are GENUINELY concerned with offering good quality accommodations, service, and food.

We were given a free upgrade for the 2 floor suite at the back of the property when we announced that we were on our honeymoon. The suite was incredible, large. The breakfast were memorable and the food was unique.

Don't hesitate to stay here - you will never forget this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just spent the night, so did not get to fully enjoy this gorgeous place.
The rooms were lovely, had a delicious meal, and really loved the location of the hotel.
Would return

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

we have stayed at casa oaxaca before and had such a great time decided to have our wedding reception there and invite all our family and friends from around the world trusting that casa oaxaca (and oaxaca itself to be fair) would impress and delight. We underestimated just how wonderful it would be. The staff are amazing at casa oaxaca, always very polite, wanting to ensure you are happy and having a great time.

We were travelling from D.F. with our Mexican family and stayed in another hotel on the first night but it wasn't until we arrived at casa oaxaca that we truly began to relax in the wonderful, serene and peaceful courtyard, and swim in the beautiful, elegant pool that we knew that the wedding reception and everything was going to work out.

All our guests, whether Mexicans (from D.F. who had previously been to Oaxaca but not had the delight and special treat of staying at casa oaxaca) or from countries all over Europe (Spain, Belgium, UK, France, Italy) all loved casa oaxaca and couldn't fault it. Everyone loved the food, appreciated and delighted in the flawless service and we were all made to feel as if casa oaxaca was our home - if only!

Room Tip: we stayed i the junior suite by the pool - it was amazing - but the previous time we stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We enjoyed delicious food, beautiful rooms and courtyard, excellent service and we relaxed easily in this peaceful place. My daughter had her wedding celebration here and are all so grateful for the exeptional service we received.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oaxaca

Address: Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Casa Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Casa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.