We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was very good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oaxaca Magico

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oaxaca Magico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oaxaca Magico
Calle Crespo, 110, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 95 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
566 helpful votes 566 helpful votes
“Location was very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location was very good. It was in the middle of everything. Easy access to historical center, shops and other places. The staff was friendly. Beautiful courtyard.
Rooms are a little old, very small room. No safety box in the room. Thin walls, very noisy, poor sleep. Bathroom very, very small, in need of repair. Window-door inside the hotel, no windows to the street. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very clean, good location, pretty interior, smiley staff. Gave 4 out of 5 for the service only because staff don't speak English so it was hard to communicate with them but their friendliness and helpfulness made up greatly for it!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days at October 2012.
The hotel has good location - between the Basilica la Soledad and Zocalo.
Very nice people at the reception - so helpful with everything you need. I'm not sure if they're good in english but if you know spanish - better for you. Maybe they speak english also, didn't check that :)
All the rooms have their names not numbers. Loved that! My room had no window but I didn't really need that for sleeping only. I had small room but with the big bed and bathroom had all I need. There were a TV but I think I didn't even turn it on:)
At the night time they closing outside hotels door so you can feel safe inside (but I never felt unsafe even at the night time walking alone through the street). The wifi is good enough at the reception area. In my room I couldn't connect.
If you are 'early bird' so you should go to the Zocalo to have tortas and champorado - all the locals have such a breakfast, don't be afraid to try the same. Its pretty cheap (20 pesos for all), hot and yummy. All the cafes and restaurants opening about 9:30-10:00 a.m. Oh yeah, not far from the hotel on the way to Zocalo there's a small cafe with the most delicious churros I've ever tried in all Mexico! Try churros rellenas con dulce leche y chocolate! Mmmmm...
You can buy any tour to see surroundings from the reception. The price will surprise you in a good way, Oaxaca is the real Mexico with the real prices, not touristic as at Playa del Carmen or Cancun. I've arrived early morning and bought a tour started at 10:30 a.m. to the Monte Alban. Hierve el Agua, Fabrica de Mezcal and smtg else - is a whole-day tour. But this is a must visit at Oaxaca surroundings.
At the city: Basilica la Soledad is very nice at the sunset and at the night-lights. Zocalo is full of live music and people having fun or just watching at that at the night time also.
Don't forget to buy Oaxaqueña souvenirs - alebrijes - it's fairytale animals hand-crafted and hand-painted with the beautiful colors.
Would love to back at Oaxaca, it's totally different from all the cities I've visited in Mexico. And I'd love to stay Oaxaca Magico hotel again. Mostly because of good location and nice people working there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a couple of nights with my wife during our trip in Mexico, on our way from Mexico City to San Cristóbal de las Casas.

The location is great, very close to the center (Zócalo and Alcalá) and to night life (check out the Café Central). Our room was clean and comfortable, small but cozy. Although it didn't have windows facing outside, it had air conditioning. Drinking water was available for free. The Internet connection was fast and reliable. All the staff was extremely nice and professional. They kept our heavy luggage for a day after we checked out in the morning, free of charge.

This hotel is a good choice for an affordable and comfortable holiday in the beautiful city of Oaxaca.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel was clean and easy to find way to Zocolo, but since they do not provide breakfast if they only would have had a coffee pot in the lobby. We stayed for 7 nights and rooms were clean. No one at the front desk spoke English but yet we communicated. They let me use the phone if I needed to and were always cleaning the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The worst thing about this hotel is that the beds are smallish doubles, too small for me and most westerners.
It is spotless, run by nice people and not far from everything. Unfortunately Oaxaca is now full of ``gringas^^
and this fact has pushed prices skywards , so even average accommodation costs plenty.

Room Tip: If you are tall or a westerner, pay extra and get a room with 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed for a bit more than a week in this hotel. Rooms are very clean. The location is very central, just 3 blocks away from the Zoccalo, close to many restaurants, the mercado de artesanias and the busses to Monte Alban. Even though the hotel is on a main through street calle Crespo, street noise is hardly heard inside.
The hosts are very friendly and always supportive, arranging tours, cooking classes or any sort of pickup or any other advise needed. Although there is no breakfast, they serve a free coffee which is delicious and makes for a good start in the day in this wonderful city.
Overall really good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oaxaca Magico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaxaca Magico

Address: Calle Crespo, 110, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oaxaca Magico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oaxaca Magico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.