We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but overrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bistrot Epicuro

Cafe Bistrot Epicuro
Vincente Guerrero 319, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
+52 951 514 9750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 319 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

When John Lennon was asked if Ringo Starr was the best drummer in England he replied that he wasn't sure that Ringo was the best drummer in the Beatles, let alone England. The Cafe Bistrot Epicuro is a beautiful restaurant and the service is excellent. The food, however, is good but not great and is very expensive. I don't think Cafe Bistrot Epicuro is the best Italian restaurant in Oaxaca and it is certainly does not deserve to be rated as the best over all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Macpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

the restaurant is awesome, the food is delicious and the waiter is a divine person, the owner was always paying attention about every detail I'll visit them again soon

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcecele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great place with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

my family and i went to oaxaca for new years and one of the nights we stayed there, we went to this lovely restaurant wich have great service, and the food was delicious.. the chef was really nice with us too, gave us free dessert.. we love everything in this place.. i highly recomended.. its worth everything.. its not regional food but after a few days of eating food from oaxaca you feel like just eating somewhere else. like this lovely place. the tuna was delicious and the gold fish too.. my mom loved the salad and the carpaccio pretty good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank camila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great alternative to traditional regional cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

After a few days of eating traditional regional food, this place provided a warm atmosphere and great tasting food. The owners are very kind and present at all times.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alfonso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent Italian food. The service was really good, extremely attentive (this being high season-December holidays).
Very cozy and friendly. Great for big families, couples or even to enjoy a meal by yourself.
Must try desserts and pizza!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stepherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistrot Epicuro also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Cafe Bistrot Epicuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing