We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but overrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bistrot Epicuro

Cafe Bistrot Epicuro
Vincente Guerrero 319, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
+52 951 514 9750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 245 restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good but overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

When John Lennon was asked if Ringo Starr was the best drummer in England he replied that he wasn't sure that Ringo was the best drummer in the Beatles, let alone England. The Cafe Bistrot Epicuro is a beautiful restaurant and the service is excellent. The food, however, is good but not great and is very expensive. I don't think Cafe Bistrot Epicuro is the best Italian restaurant in Oaxaca and it is certainly does not deserve to be rated as the best over all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    135
    43
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

the restaurant is awesome, the food is delicious and the waiter is a divine person, the owner was always paying attention about every detail I'll visit them again soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great place with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

my family and i went to oaxaca for new years and one of the nights we stayed there, we went to this lovely restaurant wich have great service, and the food was delicious.. the chef was really nice with us too, gave us free dessert.. we love everything in this place.. i highly recomended.. its worth everything.. its not regional food but after a few days of eating food from oaxaca you feel like just eating somewhere else. like this lovely place. the tuna was delicious and the gold fish too.. my mom loved the salad and the carpaccio pretty good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great alternative to traditional regional cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

After a few days of eating traditional regional food, this place provided a warm atmosphere and great tasting food. The owners are very kind and present at all times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food, great service and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent Italian food. The service was really good, extremely attentive (this being high season-December holidays).
Very cozy and friendly. Great for big families, couples or even to enjoy a meal by yourself.
Must try desserts and pizza!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistrot Epicuro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Bistrot Epicuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bistrot Epicuro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.