We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service and good prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bistrot Epicuro

Cafe Bistrot Epicuro
Vincente Guerrero 319, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
+52 951 514 9750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 248 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
“Great food, great service and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent Italian food. The service was really good, extremely attentive (this being high season-December holidays).
Very cozy and friendly. Great for big families, couples or even to enjoy a meal by yourself.
Must try desserts and pizza!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    45
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surprised it is #1”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I agree with the other reviews that the restaurant's service was outstanding. Our waiter was attentive and helpful.I would rate service with 5 stars . The location was quiet, comfortable and romantic. However, the food was below average. The meat was overcooked and dry. The pasta plain which isn't always bad but when mixed with little taste leads to disappointment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Terrific Cafe, will return again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After reading about Epicuro on TA, we felt we had to try it. We have been coming to Oaxaca for years, so we are always looking for somewhere new. We weren't disappointed. Great looking spot and very comfortable & bright, and nicely decorated. The owner soon introduced himself and was very gracious and between the waiter and owner, we had a very nice lunch. A fruit and lettuce salad was preceded with a little appetizer - a veggie tart, and both were delicious. We followed with a penne with prawn, zucchini and red onion. Also delicious, but there could have been a couple more prawns. The only hiccup was the coffee machine wasn't turned on and we were in early so we had to wait for coffees. In the meantime, we ordered a panna cotta that was out of this world - the best I have had anywhere, and then they comped the coffees because of the long wait . A very nice luch and judging from the focaccia we tasted in the bread basket, we will be back for very delicious pizza at a later date.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eat Italian as in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I had 2 meals, spectacular pasta, right level of cooking time and amazing taste driven from excellent ingredients quality. 5 star service and excentric owners! Highly recomended...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOERNE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing place for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Bistro Cafe Epicuro today for lunch based on TripAdvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed. Only a few blocks from the Zocolo, we would have missed seeing it as it is not on the most traveled tourist street. The ambiance was so relaxing. Gloria our waitress was so patient, attentive, and kind to us. The food was unique and yet Italian. We loved every bit of this place, even the restrooms. Thank you TripAdvisor writers.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistrot Epicuro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Bistrot Epicuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bistrot Epicuro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.