We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place on the Zocalo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Jardin

Del Jardin
Portal de Flores 10, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
951 516-2092
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 257 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place on the Zocalo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We ate breakfast there a couple of times and had desserts and drinks a couple of times. The food and service were generally good and it was a good place for people watching with plenty of covered seating.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    26
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Location 5 Food 1”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Sitting under the arches looking out into a colourful, lively Zocalo this is an attractive place to come. We sat with live entertainment adding to the atmosphere. The first clue that the management were not fully in control was when we tried to order from the English menu and found that it did not match the Spanish menu causing confusion and an incorrect meal. The response however was excellent and the waiters quickly did all they could to correct the misunderstanding. I cannot be as kind about the quality of the food however. Whoever is responsible for the food preparation clearly has no interest in the work and are letting the rest of the team down. I could put up with the regular hawkers trying to sell there goods and the occasional beggar wanting the odd peso as I sit in such a great location, but I cannot forgive the poor quality of the food. I wish I could direct readers to a restaurant elsewhere on the Zocalo but the nearest other restaurant I have eaten in is the Hosteria de Alcala which is 500 meters away on the way to the cultural museum. If Del Jardin is representative of those on this historic square a change of location would be well worth the walk even if you are not going to the museum.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“After 12 years .. no more.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

All I can say is that after over 12 years at this establishment ... no more!
For drinks in the afternoon it is OK, go there for dinner and there seems to be an attitude with the female servers. They seem to be greatly bothered by the customers presence.
Never again in future visits.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Talk about good drinks and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

As a tourist, i pride myself in eating good food, having a good drink and having a great time. This place offers me all that and more....The Margaritas...Boy ooh Boy. let us not forget that they have good pina colada...Ohhh you can sit outside and just watch what is going on. You can try everything....You won't be disappointed...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The only good thing about this place is location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I used to go there to eat whenever I was in Oaxaca. The last 2 occasions proved it to be the last place I'll ever go in the city! The service is horrible, the employees are RUDE, unresponsive and unhappy to the point where I wanted to ask the waitress if someone is illegally forcing her to work there. The lady at the cashier got ANGRY with me when I asked for the invoice, she snapped at me!! And then she sent me the invoice with errors. The food - we asked for the botanero, a variety of local foods to share between a couple, it was ok, but way overpriced for what you get. I guess if you're looking for a place to order coffee or beer and look at the Zocalo, it's ok, but if you want local cuisine and friendly, Oaxacan treatment - go elsewhere! One star for location

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Jardin also viewed

 

Been to Del Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.