We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Que rico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Del Jardin

Del Jardin
Portal de Flores 10, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
951 516-2092
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 261 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Susan Weckbaugh
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Que rico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The margarita was deceptively simple, coming as it did in a small glass with ice and salt. But the taste was incredible, one of the best I've ever had, and had quite a kick. I had ordered the tlayuda (a huge,crisp tortilla covered with refried beans, cheese, carne and avacado) but then changed my mind to this huge, crispy roll filled with meats and cheeses. I think I confused the poor waiter (I blame it on the margarita), so he brought them both. I really tried but couldn't finish either one. Another night we went for dessert and the pay de queso or cheese pie was light and airy and rich (how can that be?). People watching under the cool eaves on the patio was perfect after shopping the markets in the heat. Wish I still had the rest of that sandwich....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    20
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This cafe is on the buzzing Zocalo and is heavily patronised by tourists, such as ourselves. It's a good place to have a coffee, a beer or a burger while you sit and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere. If you're after fine dining this isn't the place for you - this is the equivalent of your local cafe restaurant at home. It's pretty good value for what it is, though their prices definitely change with what's going on in Oaxaca - for example the beers go up in price during the Radish Festival - Christmas period.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Very ordinary food in the land of excellent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The outdoor patio is very nice, looking onto the Zocalo, but you are endlessly questioned b salespeople. The service was average to slow. The food was quite bland and boring. The Mole negro was bad. This is just a tourist restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The only zocalo location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Of course there are other places on the Zocalo, but after 20-odd years of visiting Oaxaca, this is my choice for watching the wonderful Oaxaca world go by. Full of both locals and visitors, it offers good, fresh food in almost too-generous portions, and their margaritas are delicious. It's the place I head for after arriving from the airport. Yes, you will encounter vendors--and this is a good thing! I have bought beautiful weavings, from shawls to cloth purses, and have enjoyed them for years; the quality is good. As well, the vendors are generally lovely, quiet, non-insistent people, and if you speak any Spanish, they are interesting to talk with. As for the children vendors, well, I have far too many wooden combs, spoons, etc., because I find the entire experience very enjoyable. Having been here so often, I find the service just fine. After a day of exploring the various enticements of Oaxaca and environs, it's a great place to relax.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location on the Zocalo, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Del Jardin is all about location. It's a great place to go and sit on the Zocalo and watch people go by. In general, I don't go there for the food. I usually order the enchiladas and some guacamole. The food is consistently decent. One of the things I dislike is the smokers, I usually try to sit far away from them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Jardin also viewed

 

Been to Del Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.