We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abu to your Saves list
Hotel Abu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Murguia #104 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Los Cabos Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is located in downtown Oaxaca, steps away from Santo Domingo. From there you can have the best walking tour of the city.

The architecture of the hotel is very good. They have an interior Patio with fountain, very cozy and relaxing.

The front desk team is very kind, professional and efficient. In general, the hotel has a very good service.

The rooms are very small. I traveled with my father and we had a twin bedroom. There was no space left for us to move. If you chose a King bed I am sure you will have a much better experience. The room decor is simple and has all the basic services you might expect from a 4 star hotel. Internet is free and works well.

The only thing that the hotel needs to work in is the acoustics. The interior corridor is covered to protect from the rain but it causes an echo at night. From your room you will hear everything that happens at the lobby area. Very noisy.

Room Tip: King bedded rooms offer more space and you will have a better experience. Ask for a room which is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
9
17
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have visited Oaxaca a number of times, but this year for Dia De Los Muertos, most properties in town were sold out. I booked a room at Hotel Abu via hotels.com. I ended up making two back-to-back reservations : 1 for the first 3 days, and the 2nd for another week.
When I arrived, my first reservation was fine, but for the 2nd one they were overbooked, and told me there was a hotels.com error. The hotel had absolutely no sympathy for my very distressing situation - the entire city was sold out, and I thought I had a confirmed reservation. The error probably was the fault of hotels.com, but as I stood in the lobby, confused and frustrated, they did absolutely nothing to help me. They watched and sort of snickered and eventually showed me to my tiny little box of a room. I mean, ridiculously small. Albeit the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
But there was barely room for my suitcase in this room. And it was stupidly loud - there is a covered courtyard in the center of the hotel, and as people come and go, their voices echo through the whole place.
This hotel left me with a very bad taste in my mouth. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Request an exterior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is an ok hotel with breakfast included, which is complete and of good quality. It has a very good location since its walking distance from almost everything that needs to be visited in town. The rooms are modern and renovated but the bathrooms are still very small and old.

Room Tip: Ask for the exterior rooms, they have more light and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Casa Abu is a good location for touring the city centre . Clean and modern design in a colonial building. Good service, clean, and a great cooked breakfast makes for good value for money .
Negatives are noisy interior , you can here everything from the central public area and voices of noisy guests , everyday woken at around six by guests moving . No parking which is common in this zone , but the lack of good parking nearby means , either parking in the street -- not easy to find space or paying almost 10 dollars the night ( 9 to 9 ) extra hours by the hour and access to carparks is surprisingly limited , in the closest one they open at 7.30 on sunday morning to close at 9.30 and do not open again till 9 in the evening . If you have a car its cheaper to stay outside the centre with parking and take taxis to the centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Casa Abu has an excellent location, but the rooms are a little small and they don't have any sensation of luxury. It is a 2 to 3 star hotel. The breakfast buffet, which is included in the rate is very good. The hotel Camino Real is just a few steps away and it is so beautiful, but the prices are much more expensive. If you want to save money this is a good option, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Its location makes this hotel de best (just 2 blocks away from Santo Domingo church and 3 blocks away from the Zocalo).I stayed here the whole weekend and it couldn't have been better. its a very different hotel with a whole different concept and if you're done with all those big old constructions they turned into hotels this is what you're looking for. The beds and pillows are soft, the room was very clean and if you stay in the balcony section you get a lot of natural light. The lobby section is lovely! They only serve breakfast but its ok because there are A LOT of excellent restaurants nearby. The guys at the front desk are all very nice and they help you as much as they can.
Can't wait to go back!
PS: Be prepared!! 'cause they don't accept American Express...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

Staying in Oaxaca over the holidays, hotels were hard to come by and we stayed in the Parador Plaza. While the service was good and the staff very friendly, I can't recommend the place. The room we had was spartan and the bed soft, but the worst was the cold. There wasn't any heating and the window in the room opened to an exposed interior courtyard. The window could not be totally closed, so at night the room was quite cold. We did get several extra blankets (which were readily supplied), but that didn't really take off all the chill. It was unfortunate that it wasn't more comfortable, because the staff was very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abu

Address: Murguia #104 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Abu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.