We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant overall” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abu to your Saves list
Hotel Abu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Murguia #104 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
new york city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unpleasant overall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have visited Oaxaca a number of times, but this year for Dia De Los Muertos, most properties in town were sold out. I booked a room at Hotel Abu via hotels.com. I ended up making two back-to-back reservations : 1 for the first 3 days, and the 2nd for another week.
When I arrived, my first reservation was fine, but for the 2nd one they were overbooked, and told me there was a hotels.com error. The hotel had absolutely no sympathy for my very distressing situation - the entire city was sold out, and I thought I had a confirmed reservation. The error probably was the fault of hotels.com, but as I stood in the lobby, confused and frustrated, they did absolutely nothing to help me. They watched and sort of snickered and eventually showed me to my tiny little box of a room. I mean, ridiculously small. Albeit the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
But there was barely room for my suitcase in this room. And it was stupidly loud - there is a covered courtyard in the center of the hotel, and as people come and go, their voices echo through the whole place.
This hotel left me with a very bad taste in my mouth. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Request an exterior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    15
    11
    13
See reviews for
12
21
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is an ok hotel with breakfast included, which is complete and of good quality. It has a very good location since its walking distance from almost everything that needs to be visited in town. The rooms are modern and renovated but the bathrooms are still very small and old.

Room Tip: Ask for the exterior rooms, they have more light and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Casa Abu is a good location for touring the city centre . Clean and modern design in a colonial building. Good service, clean, and a great cooked breakfast makes for good value for money .
Negatives are noisy interior , you can here everything from the central public area and voices of noisy guests , everyday woken at around six by guests moving . No parking which is common in this zone , but the lack of good parking nearby means , either parking in the street -- not easy to find space or paying almost 10 dollars the night ( 9 to 9 ) extra hours by the hour and access to carparks is surprisingly limited , in the closest one they open at 7.30 on sunday morning to close at 9.30 and do not open again till 9 in the evening . If you have a car its cheaper to stay outside the centre with parking and take taxis to the centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Casa Abu has an excellent location, but the rooms are a little small and they don't have any sensation of luxury. It is a 2 to 3 star hotel. The breakfast buffet, which is included in the rate is very good. The hotel Camino Real is just a few steps away and it is so beautiful, but the prices are much more expensive. If you want to save money this is a good option, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Its location makes this hotel de best (just 2 blocks away from Santo Domingo church and 3 blocks away from the Zocalo).I stayed here the whole weekend and it couldn't have been better. its a very different hotel with a whole different concept and if you're done with all those big old constructions they turned into hotels this is what you're looking for. The beds and pillows are soft, the room was very clean and if you stay in the balcony section you get a lot of natural light. The lobby section is lovely! They only serve breakfast but its ok because there are A LOT of excellent restaurants nearby. The guys at the front desk are all very nice and they help you as much as they can.
Can't wait to go back!
PS: Be prepared!! 'cause they don't accept American Express...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

Staying in Oaxaca over the holidays, hotels were hard to come by and we stayed in the Parador Plaza. While the service was good and the staff very friendly, I can't recommend the place. The room we had was spartan and the bed soft, but the worst was the cold. There wasn't any heating and the window in the room opened to an exposed interior courtyard. The window could not be totally closed, so at night the room was quite cold. We did get several extra blankets (which were readily supplied), but that didn't really take off all the chill. It was unfortunate that it wasn't more comfortable, because the staff was very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#29 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#36 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#40 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Arnel
Hotel Casa Arnel
#69 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abu

Address: Murguia #104 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Abu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Abu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.