We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views and a beautiful pool and patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Internacional Km 545 | Col. Figueroa, Oaxaca 68070, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and a beautiful pool and patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A classic hotel from the 1950s with updated rooms and gorgeous view overlooking the city. Hotel Victoria has that feel of old Hollywood. The shuttle is very convenient and drops you off downtown every hour. The room we stayed in was standard-clean and basic. The patio, pool and restaurant were great. We loved relaxing in the pool and having a drink on the patio. The breakfast buffet was excellent-lots of choices-something for everyone. The hotel was full of groups and families. A good choice for families or groups who can rent the small casas overlooking the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    72
    47
    21
    15
See reviews for
58
55
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and some of them have a very nice view. The location of the Hotel is just great, they're near downtown and also near the Guelaguetza auditorium. The hotel has a free shuttle service to the town center in a regular bias but if you preffer go there by walking you can do it (it takes less than 15 minutes to get there).
The food was good, tasty and you have a veriety of typical dishes to chose, try them!

What I didn't like about the Victoria Oaxaca Hotel: The rooms have just one key. As I was sharing a room with someone else during a congress it would be much better for me to have a spare key, still this won't be a problem if you can talk to your roomate and agree in leaving the key at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Extremely well positioned for views overlooking the town. Both restaurant and bar (floor above restaurant) were open along one side to enjoy the vistas, but a bit chilly for an early breakfast! The pool was lovely, clean and warm, and the room was absolutely fine. We were located in a block just across from the main part where the reception and restaurant were. Meal on the first of our 2 evenings there was rather a disaster so the following night we ate in the town. The driver of the hotel's shuttle bus was very helpful: a number of people were waiting, so he took them earlier than the appointed time and came straight back for the rest of us, meaning we left at the appointed hour. Overall a good stay but disappointment with the evening food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great views from the restaurant and bar. 20 to 30 minutes walk to the town centre but there is a free shuttle bus every hour and taxis always available for only 40 peso (£2).
Room was fine and the hotel has some nice grounds and an open swimming pool which seemed popular.
Breakfast was good - plenty of choice.
We had a problem with the evening meal - on a table for 4 only one meal arrived hot - presumably the other 3 left to one side for too long, were all cold on cold plates. We asked for them to be reheated - but they again came back too cold to eat if a bit warmer and so again we asked for them to be fixed. The chef must have lost his temper at this point as they returned absolutely red hot from presumably being in the microwave too long. The food was also red hot, too hot to eat now, one meal being almost stuck to the plate - and I can't say that being red hot added much to the salad component of the meal. We should have told them to throw them away.
The meal being cold wasn't really a problem - these things happen - it was the attitude of the staff and chef to fixing it that gives rise to complaint.
I wouldn't recommend eating here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked a 4/5 star hotels trip around Mexico and this one was supposed to be the only 4 stars in the whole tour. Nonsense. The signal in the entrance is 5 stars all right but the hotel is not. We booked a standard room so we knew we wouldn´t get a nice view or anything fancy. But the room lacked some basic stuff like a small table for putting glasses or any other food, proper cleaning and proper maintainence. There was an old and stained armchair. The toilet reservoir was broken and the closet lacked serious maintainance as well. I took pictures of all this and showed them to the repection desk. They moved us to another room. This room was better than the first one but far away from the level a standard room in a 5 star hotel is supposed to have. There wasn´t anything to step on in the shower so the risk of falling down was huge. Besides that, the cover, separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom blocked all the light so showers were taken in the dark. The sweage smell in the bathroom was unberable and the towels were old, thin and had that grey colour that white towels get after years of use and not good cleaning. The curtains had stains and were ripped off. In one of the corners of the room there was a strong urine smell. The window faced the place where the vans come and go, and also the touristic buses, and as it was a stepy hill, the noise was unbelievable.
I wouldn´t be doing this review if the hotel was a 2 stars one or even a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It’s my third time staying at the Victoria Hotel, by far the best option if your visiting Oaxaca, the hotel has a very inviting pool, nice gardens and a fabulous view of the city, not to mention they have a shuttle service, which is very convenient if you need to go downtown, the restaurant had a great selection of Mexican dishes and drinks, it’s a great place to relax and also its very secure, ill definitely stay there again on my next visit. Kudos to all the staff

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Beautiful setting in gardens; pool looked inviting tho' we didn't have time to use it. BUT there are so many flights of steps everywhere (to reach the restaurant, the gardens & each of the hotel buildings) that it wouldn't suit anyone with walking difficulties.We were allocated a standard room up/down steps, along outdoor walkways, more steps, around corners - couldn't have been further from Reception! As my husband is (temporarily) on crutches we were upgraded to a junior suite - not so far to walk, very spacious & fantastic views over the city. Good breakfasts with a different selection of delicious Mexican dishes each day; dinner & bar snacks nothing memorable. The bar, being open on one side, was rather chilly in the evenings though.We weren't troubled by noise, either from the road or from the disco (which is down in the city, not, as we had feared from postings here, at the hotel) even though we were there at the weekend.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible - the view of the city from some of the standard rooms is spoiled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fortin Plaza
Hotel Fortin Plaza
#47 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casantica
Hotel Casantica
#35 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#29 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa de Adobe
La Casa de Adobe
#23 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
1.0 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#26 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Carretera Internacional Km 545 | Col. Figueroa, Oaxaca 68070, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.