We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not where we were supposed to stay, lots of problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oaxaca Real

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oaxaca Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oaxaca Real
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Not where we were supposed to stay, lots of problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We did not book this hotel, it was a change to an itinerary we were not made aware of and was not the same standard of other hotels.
Difficult to access plugs for charging as high up, restaurant breakfast service a bit poor- ignored first day. Had a choice of eggs or pancakes, fruit or fruit juice.
Very small towels.
No air con - unable to open window in bathroom as too high, window in room frosted and opened onto a corridor. Rooms very dark.
Bathroom - a bit slippy
The hotel is basic with a small outdoor pool, terrace restaurant, good location 2 minutes from zocalo. For a basic hotel - acceptable but still poor service. Some staff don't speak Spanish or English making some communication even more difficult.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lau B, Gerente at Hotel Oaxaca Real, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We regret this situation on your hotel stay, sincerely without criticism and feedback from our customers could ever improve our services for the convenience of you. We have detected the event in your itinerary, but we appreciate your communication with us and we will consider your observation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
12
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A good hotel in an excellent location only a few blocks from city centre. Helpful staff. There is a pool but I didn't try it. Other guests coming in late or leaving early was very disturbing, the walls are thin.
+ Beautiful hotel with lots of charm.
- Thin walls makes the place noisy. Restaurant (breakfast) can not be recommended.

Room Tip: Choose room as far away from reception as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four days. The people were very attentive and the location is perfect. It is a great hotel for the price and this is a city to explore and not to stay at the hotel, so the rooms are small but that was of no importancebecause we were out all day. Location is perfectly situated between both main plazas. I even ran into Rick Bayless outside the hotel. We had a bit of trouble with a tour and the hotel fixed it for us and even offer to pay for it. That is good service.
The city charmed us beyond our expectations so we will be back and im sure we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is well situated in oaxaca. Just a few minutes walk from the Zocalo. When we arrived we got a nice welcome drink. Rooms are big and clean. The rest of the hotel is also very clean. Staff is nice. Pool is rather small. We had breakfast with a big group, so we all got served the same dishes: fruit with yogurt and muesli. Next dish was bread with eggs and the bean thingy.. So it was alright. Sleep quality was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very convenient to the Zocalo. A clean budget hotel. WiFi is pretty weak and works mainly in common pool and lobby area.

Watch out for mosquitos. Definitely got bit repeatedly in pool area while using the WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Table View, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is location is quite good, just a few blocks away from the Zocalo. The rooms were big enough as was the bathroom. The sleep quality was good and the room was clean and neat.

Wireless Internet is available and there is a restaurant upstairs, never used it so cannot comment. I liked there pool and yes the restaurant do deliver to the pool.

There are ATM's just down the road and most of the attractions/museums are with walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are at the back and are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovakia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Oaxaca is one of most friendly town in Mexico. Hotel is located in central town, very close to main attraction: Benito Juarez house, Santo Domingo church, Zocalo and so one. On the right side to Zocalo direction from hotel is small bakery with big choice of pastry. On the market you can tray eat "chiapullines" or chocolate. Very close from hotel, on the top of hills is located Zapotecas ceremony place Monte Alban.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oaxaca Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaxaca Real

Address: Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oaxaca Real 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel also offers you the following services: free and secured parking, restaurant with daily service from 07:00 am until 11:00 pm, pool, wireless internet in the lobby, travel agency.The rooms are among other things equipped with safe, hairdryer, mirrors, Cable TV, Phone. We are situated two blocks from Santo Domingo Cathedral, two blocks from the Zócalo (main Square), as well as very near to many Museums and Art Galleries. Our direction is Calle Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 in the Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Oaxaca Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oaxaca Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.