We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a few days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oaxaca Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oaxaca Real to your Saves list
Hotel Oaxaca Real
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Table View, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not bad for a few days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is location is quite good, just a few blocks away from the Zocalo. The rooms were big enough as was the bathroom. The sleep quality was good and the room was clean and neat.

Wireless Internet is available and there is a restaurant upstairs, never used it so cannot comment. I liked there pool and yes the restaurant do deliver to the pool.

There are ATM's just down the road and most of the attractions/museums are with walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are at the back and are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
34
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
slovakia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Oaxaca is one of most friendly town in Mexico. Hotel is located in central town, very close to main attraction: Benito Juarez house, Santo Domingo church, Zocalo and so one. On the right side to Zocalo direction from hotel is small bakery with big choice of pastry. On the market you can tray eat "chiapullines" or chocolate. Very close from hotel, on the top of hills is located Zapotecas ceremony place Monte Alban.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The only favorable point of this hotel is its location. From the moment of our arrival the shortcomings began. The person at the front desk couldn't figure it out how to charge the internet booking agency we used and insisted on charging us for the whole stay at a higher rate than the one we had booked, after arguing with the manager we agreed to pay the original rate since they insisted on not having received our payment, hours later my wife checked in internet that the charge was indeed made and we had to spend more time to get refunded. The room we got was a disgrace! I can't believe this hotel claims to be 4 stars. The size of the room was barely that of a single room so was the bed; the walls paper thin, you could hear people on the corridor and on the adjacent rooms (and boy they were loud!). The bathroom also tiny, the shower covered with mold, the shower stood apart by a curtain but the hot water handle laid on top of the toilet. After having a shower the whole bathroom got soaked. Do yourself a favor and avoid booking this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

NOISY, NOISY. This should be the only name for this hotel. Unhelpful staff, awfull rooms without outside windows, bathroom with a lousy shower and broken sink. You can hear all the noise from the other rooms and corridors. When we wanted to complain at 12.30 during the night, because some people made a lots of noise, at the reception nobody did care, and a very rude guide was
threatening us and was coming too close to me. Again no reaction from the person at the reception desk.
Very poor breakfast - in three days - three different versions of eggs, cooked badly.
The only good characteristic of this hotel is it;s location, but there are plenty of other hotels nearby.
Very dissapointed. The only one very bad hotel we stayed at in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just a couple of blocks away from the main square this hotel is in an excellent location as a base for exploring the beautiful town of Oaxaca and its surroundings. Stayed here as part of a pre-arranged group tour so have no idea about prices or value for money, but strikes me this would be an acceptable budget hotel. A few niggles - safe in room didn't work, rooms were very noisy, particularly when there was a function on, and all in need of a serious refurb, but for a couple of nights it did the job.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked this hotel after quite a few other options turned out to be full. It wasn't exactly cheap and the first room we were shown had no outside window - just a window on to a corridor. To be fair, they agreed to change the room and the second option was much better, overlooking the pool and next to the restaurant. However, owing to the proximity to the restaurant, it was very noisy. In addition, the bathroom sink had a sewage smell rising from it (although this seems not uncommon for Mexico). Some positives included the fact that a baby sitter was available for 100 pesos per hour and there was also room service. In fact, service was very good in the hotel. On the other hand, the restaurant options were rather limited and breakfast was not included.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms with no outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

In a very busy weekend, we visited one of the best places in Mexico: Oaxaca!
The hotel Is 1 block from the very downtown so when you want to sleep you find mo noise at all... Breakfast is very cheap and very good quality. We booked 4 rooms for the family and my daughters complained about the bathrooms... They were a little bit cold. Pillows? - Pillows are too high and feels like rocks.
Overall, i think it's a good option given the price and location. I'll certainly would recommend and come back myself, so of course would bring my own pillow!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#29 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#41 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casantica
Hotel Casantica
#34 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#36 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oaxaca Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaxaca Real

Address: Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oaxaca Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel also offers you the following services: free and secured parking, restaurant with daily service from 07:00 am until 11:00 pm, pool, wireless internet in the lobby, travel agency.The rooms are among other things equipped with safe, hairdryer, mirrors, Cable TV, Phone. We are situated two blocks from Santo Domingo Cathedral, two blocks from the Zócalo (main Square), as well as very near to many Museums and Art Galleries. Our direction is Calle Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 in the Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Oaxaca Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oaxaca Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.