We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oaxaca Real

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oaxaca Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oaxaca Real
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

The only favorable point of this hotel is its location. From the moment of our arrival the shortcomings began. The person at the front desk couldn't figure it out how to charge the internet booking agency we used and insisted on charging us for the whole stay at a higher rate than the one we had booked, after arguing with the manager we agreed to pay the original rate since they insisted on not having received our payment, hours later my wife checked in internet that the charge was indeed made and we had to spend more time to get refunded. The room we got was a disgrace! I can't believe this hotel claims to be 4 stars. The size of the room was barely that of a single room so was the bed; the walls paper thin, you could hear people on the corridor and on the adjacent rooms (and boy they were loud!). The bathroom also tiny, the shower covered with mold, the shower stood apart by a curtain but the hot water handle laid on top of the toilet. After having a shower the whole bathroom got soaked. Do yourself a favor and avoid booking this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
12
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

NOISY, NOISY. This should be the only name for this hotel. Unhelpful staff, awfull rooms without outside windows, bathroom with a lousy shower and broken sink. You can hear all the noise from the other rooms and corridors. When we wanted to complain at 12.30 during the night, because some people made a lots of noise, at the reception nobody did care, and a very rude guide was
threatening us and was coming too close to me. Again no reaction from the person at the reception desk.
Very poor breakfast - in three days - three different versions of eggs, cooked badly.
The only good characteristic of this hotel is it;s location, but there are plenty of other hotels nearby.
Very dissapointed. The only one very bad hotel we stayed at in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just a couple of blocks away from the main square this hotel is in an excellent location as a base for exploring the beautiful town of Oaxaca and its surroundings. Stayed here as part of a pre-arranged group tour so have no idea about prices or value for money, but strikes me this would be an acceptable budget hotel. A few niggles - safe in room didn't work, rooms were very noisy, particularly when there was a function on, and all in need of a serious refurb, but for a couple of nights it did the job.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked this hotel after quite a few other options turned out to be full. It wasn't exactly cheap and the first room we were shown had no outside window - just a window on to a corridor. To be fair, they agreed to change the room and the second option was much better, overlooking the pool and next to the restaurant. However, owing to the proximity to the restaurant, it was very noisy. In addition, the bathroom sink had a sewage smell rising from it (although this seems not uncommon for Mexico). Some positives included the fact that a baby sitter was available for 100 pesos per hour and there was also room service. In fact, service was very good in the hotel. On the other hand, the restaurant options were rather limited and breakfast was not included.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms with no outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

In a very busy weekend, we visited one of the best places in Mexico: Oaxaca!
The hotel Is 1 block from the very downtown so when you want to sleep you find mo noise at all... Breakfast is very cheap and very good quality. We booked 4 rooms for the family and my daughters complained about the bathrooms... They were a little bit cold. Pillows? - Pillows are too high and feels like rocks.
Overall, i think it's a good option given the price and location. I'll certainly would recommend and come back myself, so of course would bring my own pillow!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We were forced to stay here for a night as we arrived to Oaxaca a day earlier than anticipated. While the location was great, we were underwhelmed by the service, the bathroom did not function (shower flooding into the bedroom).

Definitely a decent enough stay for budget or spartan travelers, but not recommended for those seeking more pleasant accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

Great for short stance in Oaxaca. Pretty close to downtown, restaurants and all typical places

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oaxaca Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaxaca Real

Address: Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oaxaca Real 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel also offers you the following services: free and secured parking, restaurant with daily service from 07:00 am until 11:00 pm, pool, wireless internet in the lobby, travel agency.The rooms are among other things equipped with safe, hairdryer, mirrors, Cable TV, Phone. We are situated two blocks from Santo Domingo Cathedral, two blocks from the Zócalo (main Square), as well as very near to many Museums and Art Galleries. Our direction is Calle Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 in the Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Oaxaca Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oaxaca Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.