We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never book this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oaxaca Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oaxaca Real to your Saves list
Hotel Oaxaca Real
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never book this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

NOISY, NOISY. This should be the only name for this hotel. Unhelpful staff, awfull rooms without outside windows, bathroom with a lousy shower and broken sink. You can hear all the noise from the other rooms and corridors. When we wanted to complain at 12.30 during the night, because some people made a lots of noise, at the reception nobody did care, and a very rude guide was
threatening us and was coming too close to me. Again no reaction from the person at the reception desk.
Very poor breakfast - in three days - three different versions of eggs, cooked badly.
The only good characteristic of this hotel is it;s location, but there are plenty of other hotels nearby.
Very dissapointed. The only one very bad hotel we stayed at in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just a couple of blocks away from the main square this hotel is in an excellent location as a base for exploring the beautiful town of Oaxaca and its surroundings. Stayed here as part of a pre-arranged group tour so have no idea about prices or value for money, but strikes me this would be an acceptable budget hotel. A few niggles - safe in room didn't work, rooms were very noisy, particularly when there was a function on, and all in need of a serious refurb, but for a couple of nights it did the job.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked this hotel after quite a few other options turned out to be full. It wasn't exactly cheap and the first room we were shown had no outside window - just a window on to a corridor. To be fair, they agreed to change the room and the second option was much better, overlooking the pool and next to the restaurant. However, owing to the proximity to the restaurant, it was very noisy. In addition, the bathroom sink had a sewage smell rising from it (although this seems not uncommon for Mexico). Some positives included the fact that a baby sitter was available for 100 pesos per hour and there was also room service. In fact, service was very good in the hotel. On the other hand, the restaurant options were rather limited and breakfast was not included.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms with no outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

In a very busy weekend, we visited one of the best places in Mexico: Oaxaca!
The hotel Is 1 block from the very downtown so when you want to sleep you find mo noise at all... Breakfast is very cheap and very good quality. We booked 4 rooms for the family and my daughters complained about the bathrooms... They were a little bit cold. Pillows? - Pillows are too high and feels like rocks.
Overall, i think it's a good option given the price and location. I'll certainly would recommend and come back myself, so of course would bring my own pillow!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We were forced to stay here for a night as we arrived to Oaxaca a day earlier than anticipated. While the location was great, we were underwhelmed by the service, the bathroom did not function (shower flooding into the bedroom).

Definitely a decent enough stay for budget or spartan travelers, but not recommended for those seeking more pleasant accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great for short stance in Oaxaca. Pretty close to downtown, restaurants and all typical places

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in August 2011 and found the Real to be a wonderful hotel. Contrary to one previous reviewer, this hotel is very much open for business and having been so well looked after, we would definitely recommend it.
it is located about 5 mins walk from the Zocalo on a safe and well served street. it is a very secure hotel with a lovely pool, though the water is a bit shaded and cold.
The restaurant is good and serves a very decent breakfast. We arrived a day late and the hotel could not do enough for us. They didnt even charge us for the night we missed which was so decent of them.
The rooms are spacious enough, clean and well furnished, nothing amazing or anything but very comfortable.
So it is good value, central, safe and most of all, served by staff who just could not do enough for us. if you are coming to Oaxaca, then definitelt consider this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oaxaca Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaxaca Real

Address: Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 Centro Historico | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oaxaca Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel also offers you the following services: free and secured parking, restaurant with daily service from 07:00 am until 11:00 pm, pool, wireless internet in the lobby, travel agency.The rooms are among other things equipped with safe, hairdryer, mirrors, Cable TV, Phone. We are situated two blocks from Santo Domingo Cathedral, two blocks from the Zócalo (main Square), as well as very near to many Museums and Art Galleries. Our direction is Calle Manuel Garcia Vigil #306 in the Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oaxaca Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oaxaca Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.