We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Teca Restaurant

La Teca Restaurant
Violetas 200A, Oaxaca, Mexico
951-51 50563
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 255 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional food from the Isthmus of Tehuantepec, all made when you order, all delicious. A garden area available when it's not too chilly or rainy. Wonderful art, and great service.
Monterrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Do not be fooled by the low-key exterior of this restaurant (indeed it looks like a house and tables are set in the garage or the porch), this is one of the best meals you'll have in Oaxaca.

We stumbled upon this restaurant by complete circumstance. While scouting for wedding locations in Oaxaca, we happened to walk into the Botanical Gardens on the night of the Oaxaca Culinary Festival. The Spanish chef of a Michelin-starred restaurant was sitting next to us. While chatting we asked him what his favorite place in Oaxaca was, and he mentioned La Teca.

Next day we headed over, and the place did not let down. You are not there for the luxury, but rather for the food. From their own collection of mezcal, to the amazing local cuisine from the isthmus, this place is one of the most memorable of my life (more so than top NYC or London restaurants). Check it out!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal we have had in Oaxaca.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from our hotel room, having just returned from a fantastic dining experience at La Teca. We sat in the garden. We were the only table out back on a Thursday night. We asked for the tasting menu ( degustation) and had the following: guarnachas w picadillo, molotes de platano con cream y queso, tamale de elote and tamal de chambray y pollo. Main courses were: estofado con purée de papa y mole coloradito and relleno de cerdo con mole negro y vegetables de horno. Dessert was dulce de calabaza and camote. We also had a bottle of Chilean wine, 3 bottles of water, 3 coffees and a beer. Grand total was 1400 pesos for 4 people. Cab ride was five bucks each way from the city center. When I say it was the best meal we have had in Oaxaca I mean all 4 of us agreed that it was better than Origen and Pitiona and all the other high end places we have eaten at so far. Not too fancy, not too downscale... it was just right!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“La Teca - a worthwhile experiment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We too, had read the New Yorker review, so 5 of us, in two separate cabs, headed into the Oaxacan suburbs to check it out. One cab got there immediately and the other got lost - but eventually we all gathered at this warm, homey place. We had made reservations and were escorted through the intimate family setting into a charming outdoor courtyard at the back. The staff were friendly, welcoming and brought us a bottle of the house mescal and the tasting menu which we were all very pleased to sample. Most memorable was the plantain dumplings. La Teca started out as an experiment, but it will now be on our to-do list for the next visit to Oaxaca.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't completely trust write-ups.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

La Teca was an ordinary experience. I was with a person from the Isthmus and he said the food was mas o menos authentic. That aside, the chicken was very dry and the stuffed pepper was served cold. Everything else was very ordinary. There was nothing that earned a WOW from me. I won't return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxaca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our second meal at La Teca. I am still not certain why the door is kept locked and you must ring to enter, but that is how it is. The first time we went we were with friends who had been before. Their previous experience led to their telling us NOT to order the tasting menu and to be certain not to open the bottle of Mezcal brought to the table. Their bill for 4 was close to 1600 pesos. We were more careful. The food was excellent and the bill for 2 beers, a pitcher of agua, a shared appetizer and 4 main dishes was about 600 pesos. Somewhat price by Oaxaca standards, but well worth the price. Today we were with another couple. We ordered much the same amount of food and the price was similar. The food was quite good, but not exceptional as we had hoped. I was very put off when the waiter took the knives and forks we had used for our appetizer and put them back on the table to be reused. My husband asked for espress, which they do not have, and then ordered coffee.I asked if they had decaf. I was informed by our waiter NO IT IS NOT COFFEE. I suggest that someone from La Teca try the excellent decaf coffee or espresso across the street at La Passion or on Alcala at Burjula. The coffee my husband ordered arrived looking very weak and tasting awful. He told the waiter that it was not coffee. From that point on we were ignored, had a hard time even asking for a bill. What a shame. We will not be going back. Yes the food is good, but certainly no better than at least several of the restaurants in the center of Oaxaca, and the service does not compare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Teca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Teca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Teca Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.