We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish immersion through speaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Instituto Amigos del Sol

Instituto Amigos del Sol
Calzada San Felipe del Agua # 322, Oaxaca 68020, Mexico
529511968039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 97 things to do in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amigos del Sol welcomes you to Oaxaca! we teach Spanish to travelers and people from all the world interested in learning more about the Spanish Language and Oaxaca. We will be very happy to have you with us!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Langley, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spanish immersion through speaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly, fun but serious school for students of all levels and ages. The three person maximum class size is a HUGE plus, and they do a good job of matching abilities of group members. I did the three hour a day group lesson, but also opted for an extra two hour private session and home-stay (and, a sucker for punishment, I buried my nose in a Spanish language detective novel in the evenings). Excellent teachers, and super friendly environment. Hector and Celso did a great job teaching, and Rogelio manages the whole enterprise beautifully!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've studied Spanish at 10 schools in Mexico. But I only recommend 2. In Oaxaca, Instituto Amigos del Sol is my clear choice. I studied there a month beginning mid-January 2013. This experience convinced me to rent an apartment long term and return this fall to pursue my goal of becoming fluent. This school does not waste time or money. Lessons are skillfully and cheerfully tailored to the individual needs of the students.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, Alaska
1 review
“February 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I spent the month in Oaxaca. My visit centered around classes at Amigos del Sol language school.
The class size was small, varying between two and three. Maria Elena and Miriam were my instructors. They were very competent. The lessons were well presented and clear. My only problem was that my 72 year old memory is not as good as it once was.
The contacts at school grew to include lunches, dinners and field trips with other students.
I would (and may well next year) attend again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Attending Amigos del Sol really enhanced my visit to Oaxaca. Not only did I really improve my conversational Spanish with my teacher, I made friends and got insights into the culture that only can come from connecting with locals. Rogelio deeply cares about student learning and enjoyment. Classes are small and intimate, and conversations can turn student interests. I was able to break from my very formal understanding of Spanish finally, and into the realm of talking comfortably, I also was able to get very specific instruction on points of grammar that troubled me, by asking for explanations in class. It was great!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Instituto Amigos del Sol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I spent a week at Amigos del Sol in Oaxaca, and enjoyed my time there. I went with two friends who likewise enjoyed the experience. I would definitely go back to the Institute.

The director, Rogelio, is a really nice fellow. He and I had several pleasant email interchanges both before and after my stay in Oaxaca. He referred us to a really good cooking school. After my visit, I sent him a few comments about my experience and a couple of suggestions. Rogelio was very appreciative and responsive. He truly wants every student to have a wonderful experience.

His school is a ten minute drive from downtown Oaxaca. He and the teachers picked us up and dropped us off. When I first heard about this, I didn't like the idea. But in practice it was fun. It was a great way to interact with the other students and with Rogelio.

Hopefully we will go back soon!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Instituto Amigos del Sol also viewed

 

Been to Instituto Amigos del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Instituto Amigos del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.