We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Instituto Amigos del Sol

Instituto Amigos del Sol
Calzada San Felipe del Agua # 322, Oaxaca 68020, Mexico
529511968039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 97 things to do in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amigos del Sol welcomes you to Oaxaca! we teach Spanish to travelers and people from all the world interested in learning more about the Spanish Language and Oaxaca. We will be very happy to have you with us!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“We went back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I were in Oaxaca last year and fell in love with the city and Amigos del Sol. We returned this February and everything was as great as we remembered. Rogelio was totally accommodating, encouraging and friendly. We had 2 new teachers; they were just as wonderful as the two we had last year. The classes are small and our fellow students delightful. We plan to go again next year!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuiaba, MT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great school in a lovely city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I studied at Amigos del Sol for 5 or 6 weeks starting in the end of August/2012. It was an amazing experience, more than I expected. Rogelio, the director, is very friendly and kind since the first time you write to him and he is always ready to help you. I arrived talking almost nothing and my Spanish grew immensely during the course. I was the only student in my class except for 5 days and I think it helped to improve my skills. After I left the school I received compliments on my Spanish during my last days in México. The classes were great and I had a lot of fun and laughs with my teacher Esteban. I had a really good time at Amigos del Sol and highly recommend the school to anybody.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best language teaching I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I took classes with Rogelio for three weeks and he was, hands down, the best language teacher I have ever had (and I have had many, in several languages). He is a natural pedagogue -- and also a lovely human being. Small class size -- seldom over 3 students -- is a big plus. Flexibility is also a plus. I was frankly amazed that a language school could be the Tripadvisor #1 attraction in Oaxaca, but after the three weeks we attended Amigos del Sol it was no longer a mystery.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent 3 days brushing up our Spanish at Amigos del Sol. We learnt more than we had hoped for, and found the lessons to be professionally run, friendly and ultimately great value for money. There was no unnecessary time wasting, and we could take a break if and when we wanted to. Our teacher Celso spoke to us really only in Spanish, and even though we have only a beginner's level of knowledge we found him to be easy to understand and very patient. The school is north of the city, but Rogelio picked us up punctually each day from close to our hostel. I highly recommend the school, and would return if I could. Thank you Rogelio and Celso!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good language instruction, very small classes, good service. Slightly out of town, but they drive you to and from centro.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Instituto Amigos del Sol also viewed

 

Been to Instituto Amigos del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Instituto Amigos del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.