We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem of a restaurant, well worth seeking out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Escapulario

El Escapulario
Garcia Vigil 617, Oaxaca, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 260 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: See http://www.oaxaca-mio.com/escapulario.htm for local info on the restaurant.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem of a restaurant, well worth seeking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This family-owned, second floor restaurant is not too many blocks up from the Zocalo on Garcia Vigil at the corner with Quetzacoatl and well worth the walk. If you are lucky, you can get our favorite table overlooking the street from a corner, full-length window. The food is delicious, very creative, and a terrific way to sample indiginous cuisine and ingredients. And do take the time to chat with the owner/chef, who is delightful and does speak some English - though we spoke with her in Spanish. Have fun.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good menu and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Oaxaca has so many outstanding restaurants that it is difficult to remember them all. This one is in the block north of the NE corner of the zocalo. They have pizzas and a buffet as well as a full menu. I have never been disappointed here. Go up to the top floor for quieter dining.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
“A not sophisticated place, but a great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Leave the noisy, expensive, crowded, and touristic places behind you, walk two block north, and get up the empty stairs of El Escapulario. It doesn't look fancy but it's one of the best table in town. If you're lucky, seat on the table in front of the window looking over the street. Then take the time to chat and have fun with Tete, the owner, a very smart woman, and listen to her suggestions. Be adventurous, taste something you don't know yet. We came here a few times with my wife, and with friends, and we regularly had some of the best Mexican food in Oaxaca, for a very good price. Thank you again Tete. JY

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadlephia, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, it varies...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Confused by the reviews? Well, it depends. Once we went there and the food was very carefully prepared (although, it was hardly elaborate) and we thought very highly of the place. We returned to find a meal that left us wondering if we were eating at the same place. Hard to recommend this place to anyone. A friend was not impressed by the cleanliness of the bathroom.

The restaurant is on the second floor, be careful on the steps they are of uneven height. Remember you are in Mexico!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rociada, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value comida”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a very typical small lunch place with very good food & friendly staff. The price is quite reasonable for a meal with beer included if you wish. The staff could not be nicer. The ambience is basic eatery & requires going up rather uneven steps. However, it fits the ambience of Oaxaca & is good value.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Escapulario also viewed

Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to El Escapulario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Escapulario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.