We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking classes and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma de mi Tierra Cooking School

Alma de mi Tierra Cooking School
Aldama # 205 Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico
877 234-4706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 activities in Oaxaca
Type: Classes/Workshops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Alma de Mi Tierra offers day cookery classes. Nora Valencia is a native of Oaxaca and passes on time honored recipes and techniques and some new ones of her own to her enthusiastic students.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cooking classes and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've had the pleasure of cooking with Nora for several years, and all of the positive comments here about her are true. She is passionate about the wonderful regional cuisine of Oaxaca, expert in traditional preparations of classic dishes and creative in developing new recipes. Her love for her land and its history makes her an enthusiastic and effective teacher.

Nora also leads day tours to the market towns surrounding Oaxaca, where visitors can experience the texture and color of Oaxacan life with a guide who is both knowledgeable and charming.

If you plan on being in Oaxaca for the Days of the Dead and are looking for activities and a guide to help make your visit especially memorable, contact Nora...you will not regret it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    1
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nora Valencia is great. Lots of knowledge about Mexican history. The cooking class starts with a visit to the markets where she knows the vendors and explains the history behind all the ingredients. The class is very hands on and she works with small groups. We all loved Nora. We prepared mole verde, sweet tamales, squash flower soup. The best experience in Oaxaca. We ended hiring Nora too to takes us to different tours in the Valley since she's also a tour guide. We speak spanish but Nora also speaks English.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port ewen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small World- Sue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nora Valencia offers a great cooking class in her home in Oaxaca, Mexico. We go to Oaxaca often and I have taken many cooking classes there but repeatedly return to Nora's. My husband and I were recently in India where we met a fellow traveler who also loved Nora's cooking class. What a small world! Nora's fame is spreading!. You will have a very enjoyable insight into Oaxacan culture.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior
1 review
“Perfectly enjoyable day in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

In Oaxaca for a week with my 3 sisters and our mom, and a cooking school day was one of our top choices for activities. Nora was lively, interesting, and a fantastic teacher! We started at the market by her house and she gave us a short tour as she picked up some last minute fresh ingredients for the day. We were eager to learn and she was a fascinating guide. Her kitchen was lovely, full of beautiful tiles and local pottery, and the table awaited us for lunch. The menu included a soup, appetizer, entrée, dessert tamelitos, and we made them all with her clear instruction and regional commentary. I felt confident I would be making her recipes for my friends at home. It was a great day and I highly recommend Nora's cooking school.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must Do in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Oaxaca is known for its cuisine in Mexico and around the world. This cooking class perfectly embodies the wonderful food there. Definitely a must do.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alma de mi Tierra Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Alma de mi Tierra Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma de mi Tierra Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alma de mi Tierra Cooking School to your Saves list