We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Oaxaca food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Juanito Taqueria y Pozoleria

Don Juanito Taqueria y Pozoleria
JP Garica #606 | Esquina con Zaragoza, Oaxaca, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 280 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: El mejor lugar con los mejores precios, servidos con la mas alta calidad
Restaurant details
Description: El mejor lugar con los mejores precios, servidos con la mas alta calidad
Edmonds, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Oaxaca food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner and an additional lunch at Don Juanito. They really went out of there way to make sure our mother (87 years old) had everything she needed. They explained the menu well and we loved it. Delish chicken on tortillas. The cheese, Oaxaca cheese, need I say more?

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 via mobile

After spending the day searching for a great meal, and not succeeding, this was a welcome change! It was recommended by someone we met at the craft beer bar; I'm so glad that we talk to him. The food is authentic, delicious, and very reasonably priced. Additionally the atmosphere is attractive, and pleasant.
It is very close to the Zocalo, but in the direction that seems to be less touristy. I only wish that we had found this on trip advisor reviews earlier!! It's going to affect the way I read the reviews in the future- for sure.

Not to be missed!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Good Tacos, Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Good prices on the beer, lovely benches by open air windows and tasty tacos all at a good price - what more need I say?! Top it all off with good and friendly service. This is the place for lunch after walking the town.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Don Juanito located on M. Bravo 216 was our go-to place for lunch, dinner or a snack. We never made it to their other locations. This tacqueria is pleasant but don't expect an exceptional experience in Oaxaca. If you want good service and good food like tacos, pozole, guacamole, and table salsas then stop by here. We ate here 3-4 times and never had a bad experience. And...the drinks were well priced and fantastic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pozole!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is one of the best places for pozole in Oaxaca and I thoroughly recommend it. It is a comfortable restaurant to eat at, but we usually just order delivery if we are having a night in. They usually have both types of pozole (white and red), red already having chilli mixed into the sauce from the beginning and white is without chilli - you can add as much as you like afterwards, but it is powdered chilli so the taste is a little different. Both are delicious and the red is not too spicy. You get little pots of lemons, cabbage and other bits and bobs to add to your pozole along with delicious tostadas. Enjoy!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Juanito Taqueria y Pozoleria also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Don Juanito Taqueria y Pozoleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Juanito Taqueria y Pozoleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.