We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio Borghese

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palacio Borghese to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Borghese
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Allende 208, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 111 hotels in Oaxaca
milwaukee, wi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good location and helpful staff. Room was large and comfortable. We had a few service issues but they were quickly fixed after we brought them to the attention of the management.

The room safe was odd, You were not able to program your own code and the code was assigned by the hotel staff, we didn't have any problems but would like to see an upgrade to the safes in the room. The room also did not have any dressers so we weren't able to really unpack, a chest of drawers would be a nice addition.

Our room faced the street and we did have some street noise one night but nothing major, if noise is an issue ask for a room off the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

In Borghese palace all staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve , so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans for your visit to Oaxaca you an unforgettable and memorable.
We acknowledge their opinion on the windows of our rooms are next to the road, because thanks to it , we have changed the windows and just build beautiful windows but do not allow the entry of noise or the sound of the street.
Also we appreciate your comment about our safes , told him that the safes are designed to make guests enter a personal password , however we will take special care to ensure this takes place .
We want to thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and improvements that could have, as a result, in addition to the closet with whom he had placed all rooms have a closet in each room for the convenience of our guests.
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we give you thanks.

Alejandra Martínez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked two rooms with friends for a stay in February 2013, taking over a third of the hotel as a result. Both rooms were elegantly appointed suites facing a quiet interior courtyard.

The street on which the hotel is located, Calle Allende. on the north end of town, is slightly upslope from the Zocalo about 6 blocks south. As a result, the hotel is able to offer views of all of Oaxaca from its roof top spa and tables.

There is very minor automobile traffic in front of the hotel, the result of the street being limited to pedestrian access a block to the east, so that through traffic is minimal. A short walk through the pedestrian only street leads you to both the Santa Domingo church/museum (a prime site suggested by most all guide books) and to the Alcala, a pedestrian only street between Santo Domingo and the Zocalo.

There are a dozen memorable restauirants within a couple block walk of the hotel, including Casa Oaxaca, Los Danzantes, and Casa Crespo (Casa Crespo incidentally offers fun market tours and cooking lessons at modest prices).

The English speaking staff, and particular Oscar, at the front desk, regularly went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one, from the complimentary beverages that were offered whenever we returned to the hotel, to the elegant contintental breakfasts served every morning to the help in booking out of town tours.

We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Oaxaca and look forward to returning to Palacio Borghese soon.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the Firenze room on the second floor, spacious, well decorated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese, we want to thank you for allowing us to go their hosts and look forward with great joy that we revisit

We are happy to know that the special care we put into each of our rooms have been satisfactory to you, and that your room has been ideal for being quiet and elegant, in Hotel Palacio Borghese we are very interested in you like your rooms.

We are also happy that you have been enjoying our new spa and the beautiful terrace, because both offer a wonderful view of the zocalo and the center of the city.

We are happy that the wonderful location of the hotel you have seemed wonderful, as you mention, Palacio Borghese is a small luxury boutique hotel, located in the heart of the historic center of Oaxaca city, just one block of the Church of Santo Domingo and a few blocks from the Zocalo of the city, surrounded by restaurants that allow you to have a gastronomic tour, close to museums and resorts.

All staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve, so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans and strive to learn other languages ​​such as English, to make your visit you to Oaxaca is an unforgettable and memorable experience.

Hope to see you soon

Best wishes

Alejandra Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, elegant refuge after a day of immersing yourself in the fabulous world of Oaxaca, you will enjoy this hotel. It was quiet, clean, comfortable, well located, served a perfect breakfast (for us), and had English speaking staff. Oscar and Jesus were so kind in their efforts to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you. Lael and David, Terrace, BC

Room Tip: We had a room facing the interior courtyard, the Verona, which also had a small sitting area and des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

We want to thank you for your kind comment , it motivates us to move forward in the future.
We are happy to know that the Hotel Palacio Borghese seemed perfect for rest because that is our purpose , a small boutique hotel very luxurious, allowing only six suites rest and comfort as well as the detail of the cleaning is something that characterizes us, located in the heart of the historic center of Oaxaca city , which allows you to explore the points of interest.
We are very proud to have provided a dining experience of the hand of our chef at breakfast time .
All staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve , so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans and strive to learn other languages ​​such as English, to make your visit you to Oaxaca is an unforgettable and memorable.

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we give you thanks.

Alejandra Martínez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent, I liked everything very much. the rooms are great, the breakfast and dinners are also very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff went out of their way to help me whenever I was looking for things.

Room Tip: Excellent; No tips to say, everything was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

We want to thank you for your kind comment, it motivates us to move forward in the future.
We are happy to know that you want to visit again and the special care we put into each of our rooms have been satisfactory to you, and that your room has been ideal to give you the best rest in Hotel Palacio Borghese are very concerned that our guests they like their rooms.
We are very proud to have provided a dining experience of our chef's hand at the time of breakfast and dinner
In Borghese palace all staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve, so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans for your visit to Oaxaca you an unforgettable and memorable.

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese, we give you thanks.

Alejandra Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in this lovely small hotel for a week. We were in the Firenze room, which is quite spacious and attractive. One drawback was a lack of dresser space to put clothes away; we ended mostly keeping our clothes in the suitcases. The room was also a bit dark. I noticed another reviewer mentioned a mosquito problem. We did experience mosquitoes for a couple of nights, but it was not too bad (we have had much worse mosquito experiences elsewhere). However, there is so much to do in Oaxaca, we did not spend a lot of time in the room.

The hotel, in a traditional courtyard building, is lovely; we enjoyed sitting in the courtyard in the afternoons and having breakfast there in the mornings.

Continental breakfast was included and was just about all we needed most mornings. However, beyond breakfast we wouldn't recommend the restaurant especially--we had a full breakfast one morning and a dinner one evening. Neither were memorable, and Oaxaca is a town where you can have really memorable meals.

Service was generally excellent--Oscar was especially friendly and helpful. He arranged a driver for us on our first day who ended up driving us around throughout the week (we visited a lot of nearby towns) and even took us to the airport on our last day. He was always interested in what our plans were and whether we were enjoying ourselves.

The location of the hotel is great, very close to Santo Domingo/the Museum of Oaxacan Cultures and a leisurely walk to the zocalo. There are several excellent restaurants just a few blocks away, and the big markets (21st of November and Artisans market) are not far. We walked all over town from here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we want to thank you for allowing us to be your hosts
We want to thank you for your kind comments about the special care we put into each of our rooms and the improvements that could have, as a result , in addition to the closet with that already had all the rooms, we put in each room a closet for comfort of our guests and also put special care rooms to avoid mosquitoes. It's good to know that your room has been ideal firenze give you the best sleep, the spaciousness and comfort of your room which is something that defines us.
We also appreciate your comments about the food offered Palacio Borgese, because it motivates us to keep improving day by day .
We are happy that the wonderful location of the hotel you have seemed wonderful , as you mention , Borghese Palace is a small luxury boutique hotel, located in the heart of the historic center of Oaxaca city , just one block of the Church of Santo Domingo and a few blocks from the Zocalo of the city, surrounded by restaurants that allow you to have a gastronomic tour , near museums , resorts and famous craft markets
In Palacio Borghese all staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve , so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans for your visit to Oaxaca you an unforgettable and memorable
Hope to see you soon
Best wishes

Alejandra Martinez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this hotel online from the U.S. When we arrived, we were greeted by staff, shown our room. When we expressed not wanting to be right on the street, we were told the hotel was booked, and that we could not move, and even if we could, we were on a special rate, and would have to pay even more, and this is not a cheap hotel. Our stay was during the week, so the street noise was not bad, and the room was comfortable, clean, spacious and attractive. Here's the thing...we are early risers, a bit of a curse sometimes, but when we checked in we were told breakfast was not served until 8, no problem, as we could get some coffee earlier. Depending who is at the desk in the morning determines that. One day we could, one day no way. A little frustrating.
We loved the location of this property, and most of the staff are very accommodating and helpful, cudos to Oscar, but there was only one other room occupied during our stay. Why tell us the hotel is booked? Odd tactics.

Room Tip: Padua is on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director General at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest:

We want to thank you for allowing us to be your host during your visit to the Oaxaca city.
We want to offer an apology for the situation that occurred during the stay at the hotel, we appreciate your comments to help us continue to improve every day.

We are happy to know that the hotel's location was to your liking.

We hope that you come visit Oaxaca and give us the opportunity to correct the mistakes that we had with you and serve you as you deserve.
Our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent a week at this fabulous hotel and were treated like royalty! They are so thoughtful and gracious. This is a boutique hotel with excellent service, beautiful rooftop views and spacious, comfortable rooms. It is a small hotel with about 7 guest rooms. They have a rooftop bar and a patio for meals and drinks or just relaxing. We stayed in the Roma suite. It was beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfy. We had a small issue with the jacuzzi, but they fixed it right away. They parked our car each night and then brought it to us for excursions outside of the city. The hotel is in a wonderful location. It is on the same block as the cathedral and is walking distance to the markets, shops and restaurants.The continental breakfast was perfect for us. It included fresh juices, coffee or tea, pastries, bread and preserves. The staff brought us fresh squeezed juice, coffee and complimentary wine and an appetizer the last night of our stay. We even brought us a small gift as a token of appreciation for staying at their hotel. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay their again on our next visit to Oaxaca. It was a treat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josemanuel2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio Borghese, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
In Borghese palace all staff aims to provide the most personalized and efficient service as you deserve , so we are dedicated to helping you with all your plans for your visit to Oaxaca you an unforgettable and memorable.
We are happy to know that the special care we put into the details of each of our rooms have been satisfactory to you, and that your room has been ideal to give you the best rest , for the space, comfort and cleanliness of your room is something that defines us.
We are proud to know that he could enjoy the beautiful terrace with Borghese palace , where as it says you can enjoy a wonderful view of the city , you can rest, relax , have a drink, have a delicious meal.
We are very proud to have provided a dining experience of our chef 's hand at the time of breakfast and dinner , as well as having provided an excellent valet parking .
On the other hand it was wonderful to know that they like the souvenir that we give you , for allowing us to be your host during your visit to Oaxaca
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Palacio Borghese , we give you thanks.

Alejandra Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Borghese

Address: Allende 208, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Palacio Borghese 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palacio Borghese is located in an exceptional location, close to the majestic Santo Domingo de Guzman temple and a few short steps from the historic center of the city of Oaxaca. With its six habitations, Palacio Borghese offers the possibility of lodging in a place that offers privacy, whilst enjoying a personalized service enveloped in luxury and refinement. The charm of our beautiful cloister invites reading or meditation. The view of the historic center from the terrace, and the personalized attention of our staff give one the sensation of having had a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palacio Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.