We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Golondrinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Golondrinas
Save
You added Las Golondrinas to your Saves list
Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, we stayed here for almost a week. We had a King room which was large and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and there are lots of lights in the room which is a nice change after lots of hotel rooms with very poor lighting. The staff are very nice and helpful, the reception staff all speak very good English and you have to be buzzed into front gate so its feels very safe and secure.

We used the laundry service at the hotel, you drop it off before 10am at reception and they deliver it to you in the afternoon. It’s slightly more expensive than if you use a Laundromat but it is easy and convenient (they charge 50 pesos for up to 4kgs)

The wifi was very poor from our room (B6) It only worked in one corner of the room. However even with good reception the internet is not always the best.

The hotel seems fairly well known, we caught several taxis while in Oaxaca and they all knew the hotel by name. The location was good, it’s about a 10 minute walk to the main square and markets.

When we go back to Oaxaca we are planning on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    54
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
58
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful experience. Clean, comfortable, friendly, great location, near the town square and a very reasonable price. The gardens provided a quiet serenity that was a wonderful surprise in this beautiful city.

Met the charming gentleman who owned this refuge. He has worked hard to present a Mexican experience and has succeeded.

No television, no refrigerator but I loved every moment.

Hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: A quiet oasis in a very busy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is like an oasis in the city of Oaxaca. Run by a very sweet old man who renovated the place after moving back from Mexico City.

It's clean, cheap and like 5 minutes from the center.

Can't really say much more besides staff are friendly, food is nice and it's really a perfect place to stay in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is spectacular - not because of any fancy fittings but because of the fantastic tropical plants that grow in every courtyard. They fill the place with colour. You eat your breakfast surrounded by the beautiful plants. The rooms are also very clean and comfortable. I think this hotel is of excellent value and the location is very good too - a short walk into town. It's not a posh hotel, just one of Mexico's many surprising charms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riva del Garda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was in Mexico for three months and this is definitely the best hotel I went to. We got a room just outside the reception, the A-2, and it was just wonderful. The King side bed was really comfy, the room was large, and everything was just so clean! Plus it was a room with a lot of light in the daytime and I didnt hear any noise at night. Very friendly service and so nice atmosphere in the hotel with all those flowers and plants everywhere, it's like a natural spot in the middle of the city. Moreover, it is in a very central position and Oaxaca is a magic, gorgeous city. I highly recommend you visit the city and, if you do so, stay at Las Golondrinas.

Room Tip: The A-2 with the King side bed was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is an economical choice for Oaxaca. The rooms are placed around a series of three courtyards which are filled with green potted plants. The only problem we found was a lack of places to sit outside. I counted a total of seven easy chairs. When we were there a large party of French tourists occupied all the tables in the outdoor breakfast area and used the space for nearly all the 8-10 eating time. Our solution was to have breakfast across the road at another hotel. The coffee was better too.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the outside courtyards which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Understated, Clean. Honest. Efficient. Beautiful gardens. Excellent Breakfast. We had many options for Oaxaca, and in the end, this was the place we stayed because of availability of two rooms. The rooms were truly simple and spotlessly clean. No amenities, really, other than internet, but don't let that deter you. This place was quiet and perfect. The courtyard gardens were just beautiful and the fresh air dining at breakfast was perfect. Internet worked just fine, and I was glad to connect without any troubles. There is a living room which has couches and a TV if that's what you are looking for. This place is on a rather busy street in Oaxaca, so I would recommend a room farther back if possible, but our rooms were closer to the road and there was not a big problem with noise. It's about a 4-5 block walk to the Zocalo (town center). Would I stay here again? Definitely! The rooms were an excellent value. One thing to note is that I'm not sure they take credit cards. I had few pesos on me when I checked in, but they said no problem, and I converted money and paid later on. Happy to have had that experience.

Room Tip: Farther back might be more quiet.. but not a big concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Golondrinas

Address: Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel Oaxaca
Las Golondrinas Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Golondrinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.