We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Golondrinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Golondrinas
Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Riva del Garda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was in Mexico for three months and this is definitely the best hotel I went to. We got a room just outside the reception, the A-2, and it was just wonderful. The King side bed was really comfy, the room was large, and everything was just so clean! Plus it was a room with a lot of light in the daytime and I didnt hear any noise at night. Very friendly service and so nice atmosphere in the hotel with all those flowers and plants everywhere, it's like a natural spot in the middle of the city. Moreover, it is in a very central position and Oaxaca is a magic, gorgeous city. I highly recommend you visit the city and, if you do so, stay at Las Golondrinas.

Room Tip: The A-2 with the King side bed was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    49
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
54
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is an economical choice for Oaxaca. The rooms are placed around a series of three courtyards which are filled with green potted plants. The only problem we found was a lack of places to sit outside. I counted a total of seven easy chairs. When we were there a large party of French tourists occupied all the tables in the outdoor breakfast area and used the space for nearly all the 8-10 eating time. Our solution was to have breakfast across the road at another hotel. The coffee was better too.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the outside courtyards which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Understated, Clean. Honest. Efficient. Beautiful gardens. Excellent Breakfast. We had many options for Oaxaca, and in the end, this was the place we stayed because of availability of two rooms. The rooms were truly simple and spotlessly clean. No amenities, really, other than internet, but don't let that deter you. This place was quiet and perfect. The courtyard gardens were just beautiful and the fresh air dining at breakfast was perfect. Internet worked just fine, and I was glad to connect without any troubles. There is a living room which has couches and a TV if that's what you are looking for. This place is on a rather busy street in Oaxaca, so I would recommend a room farther back if possible, but our rooms were closer to the road and there was not a big problem with noise. It's about a 4-5 block walk to the Zocalo (town center). Would I stay here again? Definitely! The rooms were an excellent value. One thing to note is that I'm not sure they take credit cards. I had few pesos on me when I checked in, but they said no problem, and I converted money and paid later on. Happy to have had that experience.

Room Tip: Farther back might be more quiet.. but not a big concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here in February for initially 8 nights then decided to stay another 7. We had a Double room at 1st which was lovely but the beds are really small doubles. We swapped to a King room for the last 7 nights and that was huge with a sitting area and lots of space. It's a lovely hotel with beautiful gardens and patios to sit around. The reception staff are very helpful and the cleaning staff are delightful. Everywhere is so clean. Breakfast is very overpriced but the rooms are fantastic value for money. We loved it here, its within walking distance of almost everything and it's so peaceful to return to afterwards. Would most definitely stay here again next time we are in Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in December and found the hotel clean, friendly and safe. The only downside was that our room was on the ground floor and just off the courtyard, so a little dark. The gardens are lovely and a nice welcome sight after the cold winter weather in Canada. We had breakfast the first morning, but decided to forego it the next two days, as we felt that it wasn't great, despite the friendly and attentive service. The owner had good dinner suggestions and we felt well-cared for.

Room Tip: I'd suggest higher rooms for more light (the ones on the ground floor are a little dark)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having selected this small nice hotel for years it still is comfy and good value but the owner/operator gets very stingy e.g. not allowing to use a little room in the only refrigerator.
Moreover the breakfast portions are getting smaller and smaller at only relatively moderate prices. Incredible :
no coffee refills (usual almost everywhere), surcharge for same size milk coffee 33% compared to just black coffee! Charges extra for keeping suitcase for a couple of days etc etc.
Rooms very clean but getting stale lacking some decoration, showers flimsy.
Other personnel warm and helpful as before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western US
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here again for Muertos 2012 for four nights. Solo traveler, but they only have and charge double room rate which was $600 pesos. This year my room was in the rear garden area (B15) and was great. I wrote a lenghty review in 2011 and nothing has changed except for the continued addition of free WiFi. In this regard I would encourage travelers to bring their tablet, or laptop to Mexico as a great touring and communication with home tool. It seems the whole country is now wired for WiFi, and most hotels offer this option. As for the Golonrinas, (Swallows) I will return again and again. Although my wife has not been here, I know she and her friends, would approve of this choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Golondrinas

Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel Oaxaca
Las Golondrinas Oaxaca
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Golondrinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Las Golondrinas to your Saves list