We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still my choice hotel for Oaxaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Golondrinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Golondrinas
Save
You added Las Golondrinas to your Saves list
Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
western US
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still my choice hotel for Oaxaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here again for Muertos 2012 for four nights. Solo traveler, but they only have and charge double room rate which was $600 pesos. This year my room was in the rear garden area (B15) and was great. I wrote a lenghty review in 2011 and nothing has changed except for the continued addition of free WiFi. In this regard I would encourage travelers to bring their tablet, or laptop to Mexico as a great touring and communication with home tool. It seems the whole country is now wired for WiFi, and most hotels offer this option. As for the Golonrinas, (Swallows) I will return again and again. Although my wife has not been here, I know she and her friends, would approve of this choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    54
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
58
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TEPOZTLAN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We travel frequently in Mexico, we have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past.
It is a wonderful small hotel with clean comfortable rooms, beds with good reading lights for a change, nice patios full of flowers add to the feeling of privacy.
And a very good value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Another great stay at Las Golondrinas. The back rooms are quiet, the gardens are lush, the wi fi works, the staff is friendly and helpful. We will continue to go back to this property. The cost remains reasonable, at 680 pesos for a king size bedroom "suite" for two people. Other rooms cost 600 or less. I was buying extra water at XOXO, or local tienda's until I asked what Golondrinas sold their cold bottles for; 10 pesos, no need to buy anywhere else. Will do a wake up knock on your door for the early flights out of Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Road noise can be heard from some of the rooms that are neat the front of the hotel. Kitchen noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

First thing - avoid room A1 unless you love to listen to the buses which zoom past your wall all day.
Second thing - the rest of the hotel is really nice, clean and peaceful. The courtyard and patio areas are a riot of magnificent plants which lend a tropical feel which I loved.
Thirdly - you are within easy walking distance of the zocolo and the mercado although you can always get a cab back to the hotel after loading yourself down with goodies.
Fourthly - the breakfast is not great and it is a bit expensive. Just wander out into the street and head to the zocolo and find a nice place on the way.
Finally - as a Mexican resident I found Golondrinas a bit expensive overall but still a verysecure, friendly place to stay.
Check it out for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This is my favourite kind of hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff are friendly and the breakfast in the garden is enchanting. The owner Jorge is a very interesting man, with considerable expertise in local history.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I don't need to mention anything about the lovely garden courtyards that make this hotel such a tranquil place to stay or the friendly, helpful staff. The guidebooks and other reviewers have already commented on these aspects. I just want to touch on our recent experience with some travel difficulties. We were scheduled to arrive in Oaxaca in the afternoon, but we missed our flight in Mexico City (due to Aeromexico's ineptitude, another story entirely!). We ended up arriving early the next day. Because we had booked beginning with the previous night and were arriving before check-in time the next day, the hotel had every right to charge us for that missed night, but they did not do so. We are grateful for that kindness and for a great stay at Las Golondrinas. I will not even consider staying at another hotel my next time in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel charges 600 pesos per night for a couple and we stayed six nights in room C22. This is the most we paid on our trip except for the Barcelo Resort in Huatulco and we paid 1280 pesos per night for an all inclusive program. The Golondrinas is clean and the staff are wonderful. The hotel is also in a great location and serve a very good breakfast. However, the rooms provide at best 12th century comfort. There was no place to sit at night and read in your room. The wooden chairs were from an other century.There was no fridge in the room to keep your wine chilled or a few beers cold and the hotel did not have a bar. We seldom had hot water and when we asked to have it checked all they kept saying was let the water run for ten minutes.This plumbing technique did not work. The wifi never worked in our room we had to go outside to get connected. I would not stay here again even though I gave it a three star rating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Golondrinas

Address: Tinoco y Palacios 411, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel Oaxaca
Las Golondrinas Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Golondrinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.