We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Arnel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Arnel to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Arnel
Aldama 404 | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Casa Arnel for 2 nights with tour group. My friend and I shared a small room with single beds each. The room was small but sufficient as a base. There was a screened window with blinds, however with this opened it was insufficient to allow a breeze on the hot nights we were there, so we opened the room door all night. Not the safest option, however we all had to resort to this measure.

The bathroom was a toilet, shower and basin combined in one room. It was shared by 12 of us (all travelling in the same group). Wasn't a fan of this set up and had been spoilt by previous hotels. Some issues with cleanliness - prior to guests using the facilities.

The hotel has a cooking school attached to it and they also serve a good breakfast. There is also a cafe attached to the hotel which is open to late. There was free wi-fi, which was unreliable. The hotel sold cold water, soft drink and some beer. No complimentary bottled water supplied at this hotel.

It is located in a quiet location. Close to main bus stop which is the method used to travel to and from there by our group. The centre of town is a decent walk.

Staff were accommodating, though not as welcoming as others met on this trip. The gardens and terrace are very appealing and there is a library hidden in the courtyard.

If you are after budget accommodation and can overlook communal bathrooms, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
19
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Inexpensive and clean, in one of the city's oldest, and visually stunning, neighborhoods. Good place to meet interesting travelers and some long term visitors who swear by Arnel. The family run hotel an easy walk to anywhere in Centro, as well as very close to the long distance bus station- not to mention the baseball stadium. A helpful and pleasant family operates the hotel and create a casual and friendly atmosphere. An inexpensive breakfast with your fellow guests makes for a good way to share experiences and get advice. The rooms are plain but functional but the interior courtyard and rooftop terrace (as well as access to a very good chain coffee shop a few steps away) make it an easy place to stay.

Room Tip: During Oaxaca's frequent festivities a room on the street side could become noisy. In general it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A good place for the price. Nice people, nice place with a nice big balcony lot s of trees/green the center of the hotel.
Room was nice without being great , bathroom was not very clean which is the main reason why I don t give it 5 points.
Overall, it s a good place for the price but there might be better

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Two of us rented a Casa Arnel apartment across the street and visited the hotel frequently for breakfasts at the common tables which were pleasant, tasty and well-priced, and for the lovely setting. The family is warm and helpful and we really felt at home here.

The Jalatlaco neighborhood is quiet and beautiful as well as being very conveniently located to the wonderful El Llano Park where we jogged in the mornings and enjoyed fresh 25-peso empanadas in the afternoons plus the Friday tianguis markets. At the same time, it is only about 10-minute walk to Santo Domingo, and about 15 minutes to the zocalo. We still heard firecrackers and church bells, water-delivery trucks and brass bands, but it was worth it for the great in-town location. You can join in on the twice-weekly evening dance classes in the church yard across the street, get what you need at La Cantera small grocery next door, and get lunch or dinner from surrounding eateries like the delicious Casa Arnel cafe or Biche Pobre.

We met a great assortment of mostly English-speaking guests, from university groups to retirees and backpackers in the hotel and enjoying the lovely rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was in Lonely Planet as a budget hotel. Seeing the lobby and courtyard blew me away. It is a 2 story tropical garden. I looked at an inexpensive room with shared bath but chose a room "con bano." Many English speaking guests gather in the common areas and for breakfast. The rooftop garden patio is a pleasant spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days/nights and took two rooms. Our room was a double upstairs plus another downstairs that our adult children shared. All rooms were clean, tidy and had all the basics. This is a good value for money hotel that is interesting and lively. Location-wise its about a 15 minute but easy walk to the centre of Oaxaca where there is a great range of shops, artisans centres, markets, bars and restaurants. However if you don't feel like the walk there are some good restaurants around the hotel. The locality is in a delightful area of colonial buildings. The owner and his team were constantly polite and helpful although at times a little rushed whenever a large crowd was checking in or turned up for breakfast. We'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter with a better aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have stayed at Casa Arnel several times in the past 15 years. I never cease to be amazed at the wonderful surroundings and warm attention given by Arnel, Lilia and family. It is very well situated. The barrio Jalatlaco is precious, very colonial and peaceful. It is close to everything, but not in the midst of the noise of el centro. It is a few minutes walk to el Parque el Llano and about 15 minutes to Santo Domingo. Easy bus service to most places. Breakfasts are delicious and the family ambiente lets you mingle with other guests at the table and exchange stories and information. Prices are very reasonable and the room very comfortable. I highly recommend it for those looking for a lovely place to stay at a very comfortable price.

Room Tip: There are rooms with bathroom and with shard bathrooms nearby. Prices vary accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Arnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Arnel

Address: Aldama 404 | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Casa Arnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arnel Oaxaca
Casa Arnel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Arnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.