We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Arnel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Arnel to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Arnel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Aldama 404 | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Inexpensive and clean, in one of the city's oldest, and visually stunning, neighborhoods. Good place to meet interesting travelers and some long term visitors who swear by Arnel. The family run hotel an easy walk to anywhere in Centro, as well as very close to the long distance bus station- not to mention the baseball stadium. A helpful and pleasant family operates the hotel and create a casual and friendly atmosphere. An inexpensive breakfast with your fellow guests makes for a good way to share experiences and get advice. The rooms are plain but functional but the interior courtyard and rooftop terrace (as well as access to a very good chain coffee shop a few steps away) make it an easy place to stay.

Room Tip: During Oaxaca's frequent festivities a room on the street side could become noisy. In general it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
21
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A good place for the price. Nice people, nice place with a nice big balcony lot s of trees/green the center of the hotel.
Room was nice without being great , bathroom was not very clean which is the main reason why I don t give it 5 points.
Overall, it s a good place for the price but there might be better

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Two of us rented a Casa Arnel apartment across the street and visited the hotel frequently for breakfasts at the common tables which were pleasant, tasty and well-priced, and for the lovely setting. The family is warm and helpful and we really felt at home here.

The Jalatlaco neighborhood is quiet and beautiful as well as being very conveniently located to the wonderful El Llano Park where we jogged in the mornings and enjoyed fresh 25-peso empanadas in the afternoons plus the Friday tianguis markets. At the same time, it is only about 10-minute walk to Santo Domingo, and about 15 minutes to the zocalo. We still heard firecrackers and church bells, water-delivery trucks and brass bands, but it was worth it for the great in-town location. You can join in on the twice-weekly evening dance classes in the church yard across the street, get what you need at La Cantera small grocery next door, and get lunch or dinner from surrounding eateries like the delicious Casa Arnel cafe or Biche Pobre.

We met a great assortment of mostly English-speaking guests, from university groups to retirees and backpackers in the hotel and enjoying the lovely rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
177 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was in Lonely Planet as a budget hotel. Seeing the lobby and courtyard blew me away. It is a 2 story tropical garden. I looked at an inexpensive room with shared bath but chose a room "con bano." Many English speaking guests gather in the common areas and for breakfast. The rooftop garden patio is a pleasant spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days/nights and took two rooms. Our room was a double upstairs plus another downstairs that our adult children shared. All rooms were clean, tidy and had all the basics. This is a good value for money hotel that is interesting and lively. Location-wise its about a 15 minute but easy walk to the centre of Oaxaca where there is a great range of shops, artisans centres, markets, bars and restaurants. However if you don't feel like the walk there are some good restaurants around the hotel. The locality is in a delightful area of colonial buildings. The owner and his team were constantly polite and helpful although at times a little rushed whenever a large crowd was checking in or turned up for breakfast. We'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter with a better aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have stayed at Casa Arnel several times in the past 15 years. I never cease to be amazed at the wonderful surroundings and warm attention given by Arnel, Lilia and family. It is very well situated. The barrio Jalatlaco is precious, very colonial and peaceful. It is close to everything, but not in the midst of the noise of el centro. It is a few minutes walk to el Parque el Llano and about 15 minutes to Santo Domingo. Easy bus service to most places. Breakfasts are delicious and the family ambiente lets you mingle with other guests at the table and exchange stories and information. Prices are very reasonable and the room very comfortable. I highly recommend it for those looking for a lovely place to stay at a very comfortable price.

Room Tip: There are rooms with bathroom and with shard bathrooms nearby. Prices vary accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you're on a budget, this is one of the nicest places you can stay, about 10min walk from town. Really pretty little hotel with lovely owners and a lot of parrots. I had a single room, it's quite basic but clean, some lovely terraces at the top with hammocks. This place comes with shared bathrooms but you can pay extra to have your own. Walking in, it's like a little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#25 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#37 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#36 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#75 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#12 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villas del Sol
Hotel Villas del Sol
#45 of 108 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Arnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Arnel

Address: Aldama 404 | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Arnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Arnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arnel Oaxaca
Casa Arnel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Arnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.