We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest hotel in Oaxaca!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Arnel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Arnel to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Arnel
Aldama 404 | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Coolest hotel in Oaxaca!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is an amazing site it is a plain but an amazing adventure for kids. My father used to bring his spanish studets here and they all love it and still come back! It as a small library and almost all outdoor space! The family that ownes it will give you great places to go!! Casa Arnel is my favorite place to stay in Oaxaca!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
16
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel Casa Arnel is in a quiet neighborhood of Oaxaca City, a 15-minute stroll northeast of the zocalo. For us being away from the bustle of the city center was a big plus. The building surrounds a lushly planted courtyard. One side is the family's home, the other three sides the hotel. The family and staff are very kind and accomodating, and if you miss your pets, the family's hairless dog, Rex, responds well to friendly overtures. Even the parrots who live in the courtyard by day are friendly.

The rooms are basic--no tv, no phone--but clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. Breakfast at a communal table is available for an extra charge, cooked to order while you chat with the other guests. We had a room with a private bath, but there are rooms with shared baths also, at a lower rate naturally. There's a roof deck overlooking the colonial-era church across the street, and hammocks on a covered roof deck for relaxing.

They offer a variety of excursions, classes, etc. by arrangement with outside contractors. We booked a trip to Tule, Mitla, and other points east through them and had an excellent day with a driver fluent in English and a very comfortable van.

I got no response to emails I sent from home before we arrived in Oaxaca, and I don't think computers are a big part of the family's life, so if you want to make reservations don't count on using email to do it. I definitely intend to stay at Casa Arnel whenever I'm in Oaxaca in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. I had a single room with shared bathroom (but i never saw anyone else use the bathroom). Not a huge room by any means but comfortable. Lovely green courtyard that is very tranquil. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (not included) options are very reasonably priced. It's about a 15 minute walk to the Zocalo but given how pretty the streets of Oaxaca are this was almost an added bonus, walking different ways to/from the hostel to discover new streets and colourful buildings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

During my teaching career I frequently brought college students to Oaxaca and we always greatly anticipated our stays at Casa Arnel. The comfort and tranquility of the courtyard and terraza are wonderful escapes from the active days in and around the city. Communal style breakfasts increase the opportunity to meet distant travelers and learn from some of their myriad experiences. The staff and family of Casa Arnel are totally attentive and responsive to the needs and concerns of the client. Even today, although I am no longer teaching, I bring my wife and young daughter for extended stays at Casa Arnel. The location of this hotel provides a comfortable and historic walk to the mercado central Benito Juarez and the Zocalo, center city.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have been staying at Casa Arnel since 2001. The Cruz family has made a lot of improvements over the years. They are always friendly and helpful. The courtyard is charming and the rooms are nice. My Mexican grandchildren enjoy exploring the various outdoor spaces. It's nice being away from the center of town in a traditional neighborhood with cobbled streets. It's about a 15 minute walk to the zocolo.

I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We arrived there during Samana Santos and were simply delighted with everything about the place. It was clean, inexpensive, and easy to find (a four block walk thru a good neighborhood from the TAPO station). The staff were great, and the owners of the hotel are in residence there. They were warm, friendly, helpful, pleasant and just great all around. Breakfast was great if you wanted to eat in, and the courtyard/garden on the interior was great. Oaxaca is a great soother of your soul anyway, and Casa Arnel punched all the right buttons for the "inner artist" in my wife. We met people from all over the world (lots of Europeans). Cannot recommend this place highly enough if you want good, clean affordable stay with a great ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Happily stayed one week with our 3 year old son. Planning again this summer already with two children. What else can I add? Clean, helpful, family friendly place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Arnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Arnel

Address: Aldama 404 | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca 68080, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Casa Arnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arnel Oaxaca
Casa Arnel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Arnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.