We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in good location for historic centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Del Virrey

Posada Del Virrey
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Del Virrey
Save
You added Posada Del Virrey to your Saves list
Calle Morelos #1001 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in good location for historic centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed here for one night as my favoured hotel in Oaxaca couldn't accommodate me for this night. The hotel is in a good location for the centre of town and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable for a budget hotel.

The rooms and bathrooms could do with some refurbishment, but they were clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed one week in a standard room at 350 pesos per night. Its a pleasant old fashioned hotel in a good location: a few blocks from the zocalo. The hotel has no food service, no breakfast, but there is a good comida next door. Its a little worn, but kept as clean as can be. I did not see a single insect. The sunny covered central court and new paint give it a cheerful atmosphere. There is traffic noise. I did not make any requests of the staff- they were pleasant with limited english. There is wifi near the front desk and it usually worked in my nearby room. I enjoyed wandering the streets of Oaxaca for a week with this hotel as my homebase.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

I only stayed here a few minutes, actually. The desk people were very nice, they had my reservation and all, but when I saw the room, I knew I couldn't stay. It was clean, but the only light was from a single, bare bulb hanging from the ceiling. Too, too depressing.

The room also had ants by the door. I thought I had read on the internet that it had AC, but maybe I was mistaken. There was only a standing fan, and Oaxaca in May gets pretty warm by the late afternoon.

I dashed off to an internet cafe, rebooked at the Hotel de la Parra, and forfeited the $30 I'd already paid for one night (habitacion sencilla). I didn't care.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2005

We found this to be a pleasant, if modest, hotel, reasonably priced at about 400 pesos per night. Easy walking distance to the Zocalo. It was an advantage that we could book by email, and that they accepted credit cards. Staff were reasonably helpful, not sure if they speak English. We had to remind them that a continental breakfast was included. Also we were able to book tours of Monte Alban and other sites from the front desk.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Del Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Virrey

Address: Calle Morelos #1001 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada del Virrey is just the best option for your trip to Oaxaca, it is located only 4 blocks away from the zocalo. In an colonial house of Oaxaca City with more than 65 years of history you can find this hotel, with a charming central courtyard and spacious rooms, you can fully enjoy with your family or friends stay in Oaxaca. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Del Virrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.