We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Alban

Monte Alban
Oaxaca, Mexico
951 516 1215
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 attractions in Oaxaca
Type: Ancient Ruins, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, History Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Architectural Buildings
Activities: Walking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The ruins of this ancient Zapotec capital make up one of the most important archaeological sites in all of Latin America.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a wonderful trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a month in mex and went to Coba etc however our favourite site was Monte Alban. I would strongly suggest getting there in morning and paying for a guide. Makes it so much more enjoyable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    168
    22
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pikeplacedancer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Huge ancient ruins with layers of history. Go early am. there is very little or no shade and it is best to get there in advance of tourist busses.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“most impressive ancient sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

we were coming from DF after visiting Teotihuacan ( second time in many years) and we said.. since we are in Oaxaca might as well go but our expectations were not very high. Were were very surprised once we saw the site. It transport you into the past unlike any other ancient sites we have visited in mexico ( including the maya sites in Yucatan). The location is just great and
you can easily imagine what this place must have been like near 2000 yrs ago. Do not miss it if in the area.
we did not take a guided tour. Instead took the city bus from oaxaca- easily doable , fun and you get to see a bit more of the area. It is only about 6 km from the city center so presume you can also arrange a taxi.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecuador
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oaxaca has a lot to offer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

In and around Oaxaca there are so many things to do, places to visit and restaurants to enjoy. Being in Oaxaca for a month attending Oaxaca International Spanish school, I had time in the evening and on weekends to attend symphonies, visit ruins and small indigenas villages; be mesmerized by the beautiful artisan hand made clothing and rugs, and just enjoy activities and 'people watch' in the Zocalo.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic ruins atop Oaxaca!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

These ruins are fabulous...bit if a walk up and down, but nothing strenuous. We loved the museum, it is worth your time to see what has been found at this site. You should bring sunscreen and water...climb all over and see the sites. The space is beautiful, green and lush.
you can see so much of Oaxaca from the top. Enjoy

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monte Alban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Alban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monte Alban to your Saves list