We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, loacation, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marques del Valle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marques del Valle to your Saves list
Hotel Marques del Valle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal de Claveria S N Centro | P.O. Box 35, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, loacation, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was with a group who stayed here for "Days of the Dead" last week, and the week was fabulous. I had stayed here 9 years ago, and I really like this hotel. Being on the zocolo (main town square) dead center in the middle of all the action during a major holiday period is a "Party Central" atmosphere. Yes, the hotel is old. However, I find the colonial buildings of Oaxaca quite charming. The lack of so-called amenities - spas, in-room Wi-Fi, etc. - is a plus. Let's face it: nobody goes to Oaxaca for an uber-metro scene. The hotel staff is warm and helpful, the rooms are clean, and yes, the bed is firm. If somebody absolutely has to be connected, there's an internet cafe on an adjacent side of the zocolo, and I had no problem calling the US. Food in the hotel's restaurant is very good, and so is the food in all the nearby restaurants. The hotel has put in new windows since the last time I stayed, a real plus when you stay in a room facing the zocolo, and there's a fiesta going on outside. That is, if you would rather sleep than join in!

Room Tip: Don't worry about water; there's purified water in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beds were hard as a rock

NO air conditioning, but a fan only

We had no internet for 3 days and partial internet on our other days. RIP off. We could get some internet in the lobby but noise from other guest and no privacy made this annoying.

we were given 3 access numbers for internet, but they didn't work

THe meals were OK, but are about 25% higher than other restaurants on the square for the identical thing!!! buyer beware.

Bathtub drained very slow....

There is a great amount of street noise and the fact that you need to keep windows open for air makes the noise even worse..........

I couldnt sleep on the hard beds. Hurt my shoulders. NO pillow top mattresses here. Americans will need aspirin after a night on these beds.

THe staff was unconcerned about our problems. THey had a roll a way but it was ancient and also uncomfortable.......

One more thing--NO CNN or English stations whatsoever. Old TVs , no flat screens here

Room Tip: NO room will have air conditioning......Lighting is poor and light switches are ridiculous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This dated hotel is typical of some we have stayed at in other Mexican cities in that it apparently subscribes to the 3 H policy: hard furniture, hard beds, and hard pillows! Added to the general level of discomfort is that the bathroom fixtures have not been updated since they were installed some decades ago, and indeed, the toilet broke the first time I used it. Some reviews said that the hotel restaurant had above average lunches: I found a pig tooth in the first course and a piece of bone in the second. Our bill was not reduced or any apology made. We had a balcony with a view of the central square which was lovely, if you are prepared for the loud competing bands and political speeches on the bullhorn. Since there was no safe in our room, I was constantly running back and forth to the front desk to secure my iPad and phone. And all of this for $140 USD per night plus tax! Bleh!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful. It is directly on the zocalo, abutting the Cathedral. There are views of beautiful colonial architecture from every window. There is a very nice restaurant with outdoor seating in the hotel, but there are also many other nice restaurants just steps away from the hotel. It is an easy walk to many of the historic sites and museums in the city. The staff is wonderful, and they are happy to arrange a taxi (at a discounted rate) to take you to the archaeological sites and other attractions within the valley. Just be aware that the hotel is on the zocalo, so it may be a little noisy with live music if there is a concert or some sort of activity taking place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel is overpriced compared to others in area but your lobby faces the zocalo/plaza. I enjoyed the stay more for the city then the hotel. We were there during the annual dance festival Guelaguetza. The best part of being on the plaza is the fact that the dancers or participants parade right next to the hotel thru the plaza. Next door to the hotel is the Basilica which nightly presented a light show that was amazing and worth seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a plaza or balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
273 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and we love the location and the views. The hotel is located in the heart of the city over-looking the zocalo (town square). We like to go for Day of the Dead and the Radish Festival right before Christmas. We usually book a triple room on the corner where you can watch the parades and dance performances every day from the window. You won't miss a thing! There are certainly cheaper hotels away from the zocalo but once we stayed here we never stayed anywhere else again.

There is a travel agency in the hotel but we got a better deal on a car and a driver from the front desk staff. We usually rent a car and go to the outlying villages to visit the woodcarvers and ceramic artists in their homes.

Pros: Location! Friendly staff, very clean rooms and nice bathroom with hot shower. The wi-fi was improved this year and works in the lobby and common areas.
Cons: The furniture is basic and the beds are a little hard which is common in Mexico. Being in the center of everything can be a little noisy although the windows keep out much of it and the blinds have black-out liners.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This hotel is located on the zocalo, and could not be more convenient. We had rooms which looked out onto the zocalo and consequently were a bit noisy until around 8.30 each night, as there was always some entertainment going on, dancing, singing, band, pageants and so on. We stayed for 5 nights, and really wished we could have stayed longer. Earplugs do help, if you are worried about noise, but honestly most of our party did not bother.
The rooms were well kept by the friendly staff, we had a lot of assistance from all the staff, for one reason or another, including the housekeeping staff (heroic in the face of severe Montezuma's ), restaurant staff (very nice breakfasts) and reception.
The hotel has free wifi, which came in handy to google treatments for the afore-mentioned Montezumas.
The rooms are quite large with aircon, updated bathrooms, and the usual amenities. The hotel provides filtered water dispensors in the corridor. There are pleasant internal courtyards with seating and tables.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Marques del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques del Valle

Address: Portal de Claveria S N Centro | P.O. Box 35, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marques del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marques del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques Del Valle Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marques del Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.