We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and access to city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marques del Valle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marques del Valle to your Saves list
Hotel Marques del Valle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal de Claveria S N Centro | P.O. Box 35, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location and access to city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel is overpriced compared to others in area but your lobby faces the zocalo/plaza. I enjoyed the stay more for the city then the hotel. We were there during the annual dance festival Guelaguetza. The best part of being on the plaza is the fact that the dancers or participants parade right next to the hotel thru the plaza. Next door to the hotel is the Basilica which nightly presented a light show that was amazing and worth seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a plaza or balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
342 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and we love the location and the views. The hotel is located in the heart of the city over-looking the zocalo (town square). We like to go for Day of the Dead and the Radish Festival right before Christmas. We usually book a triple room on the corner where you can watch the parades and dance performances every day from the window. You won't miss a thing! There are certainly cheaper hotels away from the zocalo but once we stayed here we never stayed anywhere else again.

There is a travel agency in the hotel but we got a better deal on a car and a driver from the front desk staff. We usually rent a car and go to the outlying villages to visit the woodcarvers and ceramic artists in their homes.

Pros: Location! Friendly staff, very clean rooms and nice bathroom with hot shower. The wi-fi was improved this year and works in the lobby and common areas.
Cons: The furniture is basic and the beds are a little hard which is common in Mexico. Being in the center of everything can be a little noisy although the windows keep out much of it and the blinds have black-out liners.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This hotel is located on the zocalo, and could not be more convenient. We had rooms which looked out onto the zocalo and consequently were a bit noisy until around 8.30 each night, as there was always some entertainment going on, dancing, singing, band, pageants and so on. We stayed for 5 nights, and really wished we could have stayed longer. Earplugs do help, if you are worried about noise, but honestly most of our party did not bother.
The rooms were well kept by the friendly staff, we had a lot of assistance from all the staff, for one reason or another, including the housekeeping staff (heroic in the face of severe Montezuma's ), restaurant staff (very nice breakfasts) and reception.
The hotel has free wifi, which came in handy to google treatments for the afore-mentioned Montezumas.
The rooms are quite large with aircon, updated bathrooms, and the usual amenities. The hotel provides filtered water dispensors in the corridor. There are pleasant internal courtyards with seating and tables.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We lucked up on this gem of a grand old hotel. Having never been to Oaxaca City we knew nothing of the actual layout of things and were eager to find an affordable place with a good location. This hotel it is. All the amenities of a first rate hotel in the center of the city. The staff are exceptional in their attention to your every need. We arrived by early morning bus and were dead tired after traveling over the mountains all night. The hotel had our room ready at 6:30 am - something unheard of in a European hotel. The restaurant attached to the hotel is exceptional. The locale is right in the heart of everything and within walking distance to the major museums and local attractions. As in any tropical summer location it rained in the evenings. The hotel staff afforded us umbrellas against the rain which we promptly returned upon arriving back from a night out. On the day of our departure my travel companion called down for an iron. Not only did a bellman bring an iron but an ironing board as well. We found nothing wanting in this hotel. If you book a room not yet renovated you will save considerably. We could not see any difference in room quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RIO4RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralitos, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Just returned from a few days in Oaxaca. Stayed at the Marques Del Valle. this is the third time in the past two years I've stayed at this hotel. It's a local hotel that is literally in the Zocolo.

Notice I did not say next to the Zocolo. The hotel entrace is from the square, this means that what ever is happening in the square (theres alway something) is going to be a part of your expierence here. One day last week it ws local politicians screaming at the top of ther lungs into a sound system which should have been retired a decade ago. Not fun. But later there was a talent show and a big band.Very Nice. This is likely the difference in the various reviews of the facility.

The staff is good and helpful and the restaurant is really very good. Depending on whats going on around the hotel and your desire to be literally in the center of whatever it is this can be a good economical local hotel. It is not quiet.

The sqaure (Zicolo is interesting) Young people doing what they do, sidewalk cafes / restaurants, music and vendors everywhere.

Oaxaca has great shopping, Outstanding ruins, Excellent dinning, Fine museums and friendly inhabitants. There are a number of good hotel with in walking distance Casa Real, Casa Antingua and others.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Marques del Valle ... we love it since it overlooks the zocalo. Since we started staying here almost 10 years ago, the rooms have been revamped and are tastefully decorated. The bathrooms have been greatly improved... nice lighting, stone/tile showers, hair dryers, etc. Our room was spotless during our entire stay (5 nights). The restaurant has been upgraded as well ... excellent meals and drinks, great view of the zocalo, and professional service. We will stay there the next time we return to lovely Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ringopisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

I booked this hotel by walking in and talking to the woman at the desk. I wanted a room for 2 nights starting the next day. They had two rooms available, I was quoted a price and shown the rooms. The rate quoted was LOWER than the posted rate because the rooms were vacant. When I checked out, the hotel charged the posted rate and would not honor the rate that had been quoted 2 days earlier. I should have gotten it in writing. Still, I feel cheated.

Nevertheless, the location of the hotel is unbeatable as it is right on the Zocalo and close to everything. The rooms are clean and adequate although not luxurious. I was quite pleased with my stay until I checked out.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — they did not honor the quoted price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank veggiefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oaxaca hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#27 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#39 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#21 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#25 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques del Valle

Address: Portal de Claveria S N Centro | P.O. Box 35, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marques del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marques del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques Del Valle Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing