We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If ever in Oaxaca stay here, it's really great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cid de Leon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Cid de Leon
Save
You added Casa Cid de Leon to your Saves list
Morelos 602, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Ensenada, Mexico
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“If ever in Oaxaca stay here, it's really great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My family and I were in Oaxaca on a short trip, total of 5 persons. We stayed at the hotel 3 nights. We were really happy with our accommodations and service provided throughout our stay.

We stayed in the Mio Cid Suite (3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths). There were exceptional details throughout our suites, very nicely decorated and comfortable. We also received complimentary water bottles throughout our stay. Towels were daily wrapped with flowers and ribbons. We had nightly turndown service. Everything was really clean, towels, linens, bathrooms, kitchen, etc. It had Free High Speed internet and Parking right in front of the hotel.

Breakfast was really good, choice of fresh fruit (in our case melon or papaya), fresh orange juice, coffeee, tea, bread and choice of entree (eggs in all their presentations, huevos rancheros, quesadillas, you name it). The food was really good and the best part fresh and made to order.

The location is next to best, we were only one block from the ZOCALO, about three blocks from the Santo Domingo Church and the Danzantes Restaurant, 3 blocks from the market, just really a great location to head on out and explore Oaxaca.

I was initially hesitant because of other reviewers opinions on the property. I am so happy I followed my own instinct and stayed there, it's a really beautiful house/hotel and the staff was so helpful and nice. I read people complaining of noise, I never heard any street noise, you could hear in the morning around 8 the sound of cooking or preparing to get ready for our breakfast, it really didn't bother any in our party.

Also people complained about the price, in our case we found the price to be very fair for the service and accommodations we received, while it my not be a five star property by lacking many amenities found in five star hotels, it makes up for it with it's charm, it's staff and location.

I can't wait for my next trip to Oaxaca

Room Tip: There all really beautiful big rooms. I recommend the Mio Cid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

I'm used to nice things and the Cid didn't disappoint. The detailed touches are really special. It isn't just the furnishings, it's the lighting, the decor. The spaciousness and individuality of the rooms sets this tiny 4 room totel apart from anything else you're likely to experience. The rooms can be on the darkish side, or get some street noise, but that's to be expected in an old mansion in the very heart of downtown. The staff is decent, but again, it's a small place so one person is expected to do a lot. They even went out and bought ice for my happy hour! Breakfasts on the terrace are good. The terrace itself wasn't one of the reasons to stay there. We've had lots better. Overall, it was a great experience, but it did seem like a lot of money for what you get. We stayed in two other places in Oaxaca on this trip and this wasn't the best value by any means. It was the best unique experience.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

It should be a two star bed & breakfast. The owner invested in the cheapest things and charges like it´s silk

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

A little background on our travle experience to qualify this review....my wife and I have visted over 30 countries and stayed in everything from grass shacks to plush penthouse suites....so we have a fair number of travel experiences to compare this trip with.

We visited Casa Cid de Leon in early February of 2009 (we were there over Valentines Day) After reviewing the many various options and reviews on this site we elected to stay at the "Leon" Immediately on arriival we were made to feel like family. The house SUV met us at the airport and was kind enough to stop at a market on the way to town so we could pick up a few bottles of wine for cocktail hour. All of the staff greeted us at the curb and huslted our bags to our spacious rooms.

We were there for a week and no matter what the problem, request, or question the staff went outof their way to help. We were greeted by name by either Jorge or Miriam when we returned from an outing, Augustine (the owner) served special treats as we sipped our evening wine and watched the sunset from the private roof-top and lastly Maria and Francisca provided wonderful breakfasts each morning served with many smiles.

The rooms are more than spacious and decorated wtih character...not the cookie cutter approach of a major chain. This is a rennovated older building and the rooms can be a be musty...but with the windows open for a few minutes, all is good. All in all, a very laid back and relaxed place.

If you like the more "traditonal" and formal places, Leon is not the place for you...try the Camino Real. However, if you want a very warm, relaxed and comforable place to spend your time with a very a friendly and helpful staff (and by the way, this is the best location in town) you can't go wrong with Casa Cid de Leon

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windy_city
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

I agree with the other disappointed visitors that Casa Cid de Leon is very much overpriced and overrated. It advertises itself as a luxury hotel, but it really is average. We couldn't sleep from the street noise. Also, the staff is constantly cooking in the rooftop kitchen which shares a wall with the guest rooms! The noises from the kitchen echo throughout the hotel until usually 11pm. This is supposed to be a luxury hotel? You shouldn't pay more than $50-$75 per night for two people for a very nice hotel in Oaxaca. In our experience, Oaxaca is very much overhyped by all the travel guides.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

We booked into another boutique hotel in Puebla, where we saw an advert for Casa Sid de Leon, it was above our budget, but we phoned ahead an negotiated a discount..Well the hotel was amazing, the rooms clean, spacious, well decorated (ours even had a waterfall in it!). The staff friendly and helpfull and the food good, would heartly recommend a stay here!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed a week in Casa Cid de Leon and loved it. We planned to stay only for a day or two because of the rather high price (for our budget), but we stayed much longer because the staff and the location were very convincing.
Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was very nice every day with home cooking (ask for the huevos a la mexicana) and pleasant service.
The owner is a poet and a very warm person. She has created a very welcoming atmosphere and her staff is very committed to make sure you are well pampered, informed, safe and go to the right restaurants and galleries in town. The beds were nice and soft. The decoration will not be to everbody's liking. Maybe a bit over the top, but we thought it went well with the whole atmosphere.
We had to rush back to Holland because a family member passed away. In these difficult circumstances the staff was most helpful in finding plane tickets during christmas time, brought us to the airport, created solutions. Extraordinary. It was like leaving old friends behind when we left.
On the down side, the bath rooms could be renovated and there was some noise from the street, but only shortly during rush hour. No real problem (I am sensitive to noise at night).
Do not expect your standard large 5 star hotel, but a small place in the center of town, luxurious with a lot of personal attention and with its own soul. I think some of the negative reviews are based on false expectations of some kind of Hilton atmosphere.
I have strongly recommended this place to my friends and will go back if I make it back to Oaxaca (ojala).

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cid de Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cid de Leon

Address: Morelos 602, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa Cid De Leon Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cid de Leon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.