We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aitana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aitana to your Saves list
Hotel Aitana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabino Crespo, 313, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Houston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Aitana is a great hotel, the only con thing is on a busy street and I had my elderly aunt with me. Breakfast was included very good selection including variety of juices and fruits. The staff was very nice, helped to book my tours. Loved the hotel is like an old casona, my room was on the first floor because no elevators here not a problem for me but a problem for my aunt. Room was nice, bathroom was clean and the water pressure was perfect. location was the best, everything that I wanted to see was within a walking distance. If I go to Oaxaca again I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with elderly people choose first floors, hotel has no elevator. Rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
82
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland OH USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The location is superb...about six blocks from the Zocalo and all the restaurants and attractions in the historic district. Our room was near the back of the hotel on the first floor. Our only complaint is that with no air conditioning, the only way to have any fresh air is to leave the only window wide open which means the noise from the courtyard can be easily heard!!
The hotel staff accommodated our requests very quickly. We received outstanding service from the manager, Mario. He is an employee par excellence! Breakfast is quite nice, varies from day to day and is served in a lovely courtyard. This hotel is very good value for the money, and I think, will continue to improve under Mario's leadership.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Hotel Aitana was an amazing stay. Location, staff, breakfast, and character of hotel were all top-rate.

I was helping coordinate a group of 12 people staying in Oaxaca city. We choose Hotel Aitana because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. It turned out that these postive reviews were well warranted. I can't say enough good things about the hotel manager, Mario, and the rest of the hotel staff. They accommodated our group perfectly, were incredibly helpful, and as a result everyone loved the hotel. The rooms are very nice, the terrace and character of the building is fantastic, and the breakfast is wonderful.

I absolutely recommend this hotel and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We missed our connecting flight to Oaxaca City from Mexico City (you need at least 3 hours to get through the Mexico City airport) so we arrived a day late. I was able to contact the hotel from the airport to let them know we would arrive the next day (the front desk clerk at the NH hotel in the airport helped us out with this) and they were very accomodating, although they reported to bookings.com that we were a no show. They did not charge us for the first night and honored the rate we booked through bookings.com. The room was nice and clean, although the tub/shower wasn't great but at least no lack of hot water. The bed was really hard, but this is to be expected in Mexico. The hotel is on a busy one way street, lots of noisey stinky buses, but close to the zocalo, Santa Domingo etc, easy walk for us. The breakfast each day was nice, however there was a singer there each day who demanded tips which we found a little annoying so early in the morning. We were able to book a tour through the front desk which worked out very well. All in all it was a very nice experience, beautiful colonial building.

Room Tip: choose a room further away from the road to minimize traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Hotel Aitana is reasonably price,75$ /head with continental breakfast.Near/walkable to downtown.Local tours are readily available and wasy to book/good price.

Room Tip: Near downtown,optional local tours readily available and reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed two weeks at Aitana and couldn't have been more pleased. Mario was very helpful with any needs we had and very informative about Oaxaca. Juanita was a jewel and put out a great breakfast every morning. She would even cook special orders on request. The Aitana is in a super location and walking distance from about everything. The courtyard where breakfast is served is very nice and there is also a beautiful outdoor terrace on the second floor. Crespo is a noisy street so you might request a room near the back. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room near the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We got to stay at this hotel almost by accident because another one closer to centro (by only two blocks) was not available. But this was a cheaper and much better option! The age of the building is a factor, beautiful internal courtyards onto which all rooms open, high ceilings, a grand feeling of spaciousness. A very pretty secluded roof top garden with excellent views of the city and the mountains beyond. I must say though the best thing we found is the hospitality fo all of the staff. The manager Mario speaks English and will also help with your Spanish! He is a gentle caring person and his management is reflected in the attitudes of the staff who all seem like one happy family. We have stayed three times now, our choice for Oaxaca. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aitana

Address: Sabino Crespo, 313, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aitana 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitana Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.