We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal de la Noria

Save Saved
You added Hostal de la Noria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hostal de la Noria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Hidalgo 918 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful city, beautiful hotel. Two blocks away from Main Square, where you can find Arts and Crafts and nice restaurants. The Hotel Restaurant is good.
Beds are some how hard. Be prepared. People at front desk are kind and helpful.
Is always better and cheaper to let them help you in tour arrangements.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
16
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lovely colonial building in a great location close to the main square. Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming and service for drinks and lunch time snacks in the patio was great. No problems at all with noise if you ask for an room that does not have a window onto the street. Found the beds firm but very comfortable.

Wifi was quick, free and available in the rooms. There were no safe boxes in the rooms but individual safe boxes available at reception-.Be aware, though, that they are too small for an iPad or large camera.

Overall, a very pleasant stay only marred by the experience at breakfast on the final day. On the first two mornings there were other groups in the hotel and breakfast was a very acceptable buffet. On the third morning with only our small group there was no buffet and options were dictated to us - fruit or fruit juice but not both (and a request for yoghourt on the fruit was refused) and then cereal or eggs but not both. Cooked eggs were delivered before you had finished the fruit or juice and were cold by the time they were eaten. As another reviewer has commented a second cup of coffee or tea was brought grudgingly. To give the hotel its due only one surly waiter was to blame. The others on other mornings had been cheerful and obliging.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What we liked about the hotel was:
Nice colonial building
Great location
What we did not like was:
Hard beds
Noise from inside and outside the hotel (wafer thin walls)
Poor service at breakfast

In conclusion, this should be a lovely quaint hotel but it is spoilt by the above. If you need a good nights sleep and friendly service then this is not the hotel for you. Otherwise, it is an acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 5/12/12 to 7/12/12 in a single king sized non smoking bedroom.

Pros:
- very close to the zocalo where there are numerous cafes, restaurants & other attractions (my tip is to visit the Church of Santo Domingo and the Museo de Los Culturas next door)
- room is quite large, with a separate section for hanging clothes, wash basin, toilet and standing shower. There is definitely plenty of room.
- iron and ironing board available on request and delivered promptly.
- two free small bottles of water (600 ml each) are provided each day. Free tea/coffee also provided.
- laundry costs 42 pesos for 1kg worth
- Housekeeping is prompt and thorough.
- there is a small pool and spa although I did not use either.
- There is a restaurant on site which I did not use, except for breakfast. There are plenty of nicer & cheaper establishments nearby.
- Staff always willing to help answer queries although their English may be a little shaky.

Cons:
- breakfast is an "American set breakfast" only and is quite limited. Tea, coffee, juice and water seems to be a scarce commodity and is doled out reluctantly and only when asked.
I asked for a glass of water to take some medication and this was added as an extra to my bill - since I'd already ordered coffee. This is technically not wrong but does not give me a warm and fuzzy feeling about the place.
I am assuming that the water was from a bottle although I cannot be sure since it was given to me in 1 glass - I would be extremely annoyed had I been charged for tap water.
- I'd asked for flight reconfirmations on the first night of arrival for a flight 2 days after. This was a service advertised by the hotel.
Checked the status the day after and nothing had been done. To the guy's credit he did ring the airline straightaway to re-confirm for me but then gave me the phone so that I could speak to the airline Rep myself!!!!
- The TV does not work since reception is absolutely horrible. This is a little bit annoying but not a huge deal.
- My room has no view to speak off, the window faces the wall of another room, a bit prison-like really.
- There are no lifts and lots of stairs. This is not a problem if you don't have alot of luggage. I do understand this is due to the old "hacienda" style of the hotel.

In summary the location of this hotel is convenient but if you could get a similarly situated hotel then I'd recommend trying another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floor, less stairs to climb and the view is towards a lovely little cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hi everyone, I'm currently staying at this Hotel and I find it so charming. It's a couple blocks away from the center of the action here in this city but it feels very separate from the higher energy areas. When I first walked in I felt that old school charm feel - it feels like Grandma's house - very comforting. The service is absolutely amazing! And the rooms are kept very clean. The hotel's restaurant is fantastic -- their cucumber cilantro salad was amazing and I really loved the tamale Oaxaqueno con Mole. Uhhhhhggghhhhh so goooood....so authentic and delish! And I got to eat it in a open air dining area that sits in the center of the hotel as I watched the people on the streets pass by.

Right around the corner you have a bank to exchange dollars and many coffee houses. Very convenient.

Come - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Hostal de La Noria. The location is great, 2 blocks from the main square. The rooms are fairly basic, the bed hard, not very comfortable and pillows old. The towels are past their best. Breakfast was rapid with good service and I preferred the omelet to the scrambled eggs.

I stayed in room 205 with windows onto the busy road. There is no double glazing and the traffic noise is extremely loud but dies down around midnight. I think many of the hotels in Oaxaca may suffer from the same issue unless you can find one tucked away from a busy road.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The courtyard of the hotel is charming and the location is very good, a few blocks from the zocalo. However, the hotel is extremely noisy. We were staying at one of their suites which are supposed to be the nicest rooms. The room was OK, nothing great, and the bathroom def. needs renovation. The main problem is that the acoustics in the hotel are terrible; you can hear every single noise from the courtyard, pipes, etc. We were on the ground floor which probably made it worse, you could feel that all the guests who passed by your room were literarily walking inside your room. We stayed two nights and both days we had to wake up before 7am because of the noise. I would never stay back at this hotel. If you want convenience and you don´t need much sleep, then this hotel might be a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal de la Noria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de la Noria

Also Known As:
Hostal De La Noria Oaxaca
Address: Avenida Hidalgo 918 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#20 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostal de la Noria 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal de la Noria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal de la Noria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.