We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location, wonderful breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Diaz Quintas 115 Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, great location, wonderful breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Oaxaca for 4 nights in July, 2012.

Check In: Easy and fast, even though we arrived very late. I was given the option to pay in full at check in or check out, and chose to do so at check in. We were given our room key (they only offer one, ask for a second one if you need and they'll be happy to give it to you) the code for Wi-Fi access, a brief run down of breakfast times and a walking map of Oaxaca.

Room: *Note: there is a key holder located next to the door when you enter the room. You must insert a room key and leave it there in order to use the lights in the room.

We were in a standard room with a king sized bed. The room had a desk, small couch/love seat, two bed side tables with 1 drawer each, a closet and a wardrobe that housed the TV and included an additional 4 drawers. The bed came with 4 pillows (2 firm, 2 soft, although we found that the labeling wasn't always consistent with what was actually in the case). The bed was large, but about the consistency of a gym mat. Rather hard for our taste, but that seems to be par for the course in this part of the world.

The bathroom is in two parts, the sink in one area and the toilet and giant granite shower in the second behind a door. The shower was truly huge, and while it drained a bit slowly it was overall very nice. Two bottles of water are included daily when housekeeping makes up the room. You can purchase more from the front desk, but we found it more economical to purchase our water elsewhere and bring it back with us.

There are two toilet paper holders, but they only replace the tissue when it is 100% gone. We took to asking the front desk for an extra roll on our way back up to the room at night.

Breakfast: Standard continental breakfast with some local flavor thrown in. Scrambled eggs (add ins changed every other day), ham, bacon, rolls, cereal, fruit (GIANT trays of papaya, I was in heaven), pastries coffee etc. I highly recommend the hot chocolate. It was fantastic, and the staff was attentive and quick to clear plates for you.

Location: The Holiday Inn is about 4 blocks north of Santa Domingo, and within easy walking distance to the Zocalo. The city is quite walkable. We are not particularly athletic, and we had no problems walking to our destinations. It's a 20 - 30 minute taxi ride to/from the airport.

Tours/Taxi service: We did not book a tour with the hotel, but we did have them call us a taxi to take us to Monte Alban. The desk called us a driver (affiliated with the hotel, and I highly recommend having them call you a cab as opposed to hailing one off the street), and arranged to have him take us up to Monte Alban and return for us in two hours. The fare was I believe 120 pesos each way, and our driver was waiting for us at the entrance to Monte Alban when we came out. We also scheduled a taxi to take us back to the airport on our last day.

Check Out: We had a ridiculously early check out (5:00 a.m.). We simply turned in our keys, they checked to make sure we had no charges, and we were escorted to our taxi that was already waiting.

Overall we had a lovely stay at the Holiday Inn. While it doesn't have as much character as some of the other options in Oaxaca, the amenities and staff made for a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    79
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
45
53
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent location, free good breakfast (please, taste chilaquiles), employees very amicable... The whole hotel is decorated with original art from an oaxacan artist, the paintings are for sale directly from the autor.
You can walk to many atractions such museums,churches, markets,etc.
Highly recomended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days while exploring the area and town with the kids. The staff was very friendly and the boys loved the pool!

Room Tip: We had a room to the back overlooking the car park, but that was actually good as it was quiet and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The attention from staff and employees, as soon as we arrive until we left, was superb. Very helpful, charming and effective. Every suggestion or tip was perfect. They made reservations for all our tours and events at Oaxaca. We were staying at the Intercontinental Presidente in Mexico DF and we were very impress with this hotel. We were not expecting it to be so great.
Congratulations. If we come back to Oaxaca definitely we will stay again in this same hotel.

Room Tip: I have a corner suite and it was big and sunny. No noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and was impressed by the value, especially compared to the more upscale hotels nearby, when you consider HIE includes free breakfast with hot items, wifi in rooms and a pool. Cleanliness was good, as was array of toiletries. A bit further from the zocalo, but within easy walking distance, and as a single female I felt safe walking back at night. My only issue was the heavy doors banging shut as staff started cleaning rooms relatively early; also, I think a basic room service menu would be beneficial (but there are some vending machines if you get desperate!). I would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I really loved this hotel - it was very charming, the breakfast was fabulous, it had a beautiful location in easy walking distance to restaurants, shopping and historic sites, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This Holiday Inn is perfect. Although its location is about a 7 minutes walk from the main attractions, the hotel is perfect. Service was fine, breakfast was really good and we had to say that is was beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca

Address: Diaz Quintas 115 Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca is conveniently located in the Historical Center of the city just a short walk from promenade which leads to the town square (zócalo). The beauty of this award winning hotel is complemented with an art gallery of original oil paintings from the most renowned Oaxacan artists. All our rooms and suites feature remote-controlled air conditioning, hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, telephone with two lines and data port. Express Breakfast (American Breakfast Buffet), business center, heated outdoor swimming pool, indoor parking on premise and special events hall with capacity for up to 170 persons are additional facilities and services offered by the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca represents a style of service and hospitality that is traditional to the State of Oaxaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca
Holiday Inn Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.