We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near downtown, fantastic service and great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mision de Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Mision de Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mision de Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada Porfirio Diaz 102, Oaxaca 68050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location near downtown, fantastic service and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is about 8 blocks from Oaxaca's city center which makes it a great location when you want to be near downtown but not in the middle of it. It has many two stories buildings spread in a wide area with lots of well kept gardens.
It's very well connected to go other attractions as Mitla, Monte Alban, Santo Tomas, etc.
Service in the restaurant is fantastic!!! one of the best I've found. Food is good as Oaxaca is know as being one of the regions with best Mexican food. (which has been awarded as a World Heritage).
The only downside of the hotel is that some rooms can be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
19
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel has beautiful grounds. The rooms are nicely furnished. My main complaints is that the "free" wifi did not reach many of the rooms at all, so we had to take our computers/PDAs to the lobby for access. Also, the hot water was spotty.

The walk to the center of town is not bad, and there are actually plenty of restaurants and nice things to do within one or two blocks of the hotel.

The pool was well-maintained and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The hotel has been chosen by my tour operator and it is located perhaps 15-20 min walk from Zocalo. Get a map from the hotel staff.
Saturday night one of the buildings on the property is rented out to the locals and serves as a club with loud music blasting till early in the morning. One can hear the festivities behind closed doors and windows in your room.
While walking in the town one realizes how many other hotel options there are, closer to the center, that perhaps are more cost efficient. The town itself is very lovely, make sure you take trips to Mitla and Mt Alban. Price of the taxi from the hotel to the airport is around US$13 or so.
Visit local museums, they are interesting. One can get a huge cup of best quality hot chocolate at the local market for very cheap.

Stayed April 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrige England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

A reasonably pleasant hotel (although very motel like) with large rooms and bathrooms It's main drawback is its distance from the centre involving a long walk or a taxi. Both days we stayed the towels were removed but not replaced and we had to request them on our return. Breakfast service very good and free internet available.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We've stayed here twice and plan to go again. The hotel is outside the center of town, about ten blocks to the zocola and near the city park. It's away from the noise, bus traffic and dust. The grounds are spacious & tree-covered. The rooms are large but plain, with little balconies on the upper floor of the motel-like main building. There's plenty of room to spread out. The beds are very comfortable. The staff is very helpful, although the front desk appears confused at times. Everyone raves about the restaurant and the morning buffet. It's popular with locals and many meet there for business. Luncheons and dinner are OK but most tourists eat in town.

Taxis are readily available if you don't want to walk and are available for day trips, although English -speaking drivers are scarce. We engaged one driver for all of our birding trips up into the mountains and to visit nearby towns. He invited us to his grandsons's birthday party. At Christmas we were invited by one of the staff to participate in the posada in his neighborhood. In general people couldn't be nicer.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

Fourteen of us stayed at Mision de Los Angeles during Christmas 2008. The pros -- lovely outdoor spaces for the kids to run around, play tennis, relax. Wonderful breakfast buffet -- quite extensive and great variety over the 5 days we were there. The pastries at breakfast were the best I have had in my 27 years of traveling all over mexico. The hot chocolate too was wonderful especially when made with water (more intense chocolate flavor). The rooms were very clean and there was plenty of hot water. Waiters, cleaning staff were all very pleasant and bent over backwards to be helpful. Rooms were quiet. The cons -- a bit of a long walk from town. Beds are hard as rocks. Rooms lack charm and are outdated. Front desk staff were not at all accomodating. Making straigtforward reservations was difficult and unfortunately I must say typically Mexican (I am married to a Mexican and he would agree). If I were traveling with a large group including so many kids again, I would stay here -- for the wonderful outdoor spaces and the incredible breakfasts. If I return to Oaxaca with just my husband and 3 kids I would much prefer a hotel in town that has more of a Mexican flavor and charming Mexican touches.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — lack of charm
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

They have 3 different list for rooms availability!

Upon arrival, they have no record of my reservation on desk computer.

I ask for any available room say there's something in the computer let my check ... against a sheet of paper with colors! no sorry already taken but not yet in the computer. (sic)

Phone reservation office, confirmed it was confirmed by the hotel, back to the hotel desk ....

'Yes, but the girl who confirmed hasn't yet told us of your reservation so is not in OUR list(sic)'. I made the reservation 10 days in advance!

And after one hour and asking to talk with the manager (he never show up) I got my room.

Recommendation.

Go to other hotel! Really a nice city but a bad hotel service, ah, decent hotel installations.

  • Liked — Close to the main road to enter/exit the city of Oaxaca
  • Disliked — Horrible reservation sistem, no customer service, far from historic center
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mision de Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision de Los Angeles

Also Known As:
Mision De Los Angeles Hotel Oaxaca
Mision De Los Angeles Hotel
Address: Calzada Porfirio Diaz 102, Oaxaca 68050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 110 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision de Los Angeles 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Oaxacan graciousness amid the exuberant vegetation and modern hacienda-style setting of this four-star resort. Peace and tranquility make us an ideal option for a relaxing vacation or productive meeting or convention. Quality in every detail, excellent location and service. 145 rooms, 18 junior suite, 3 suites, restaurante "Antequera", bar "Dainzu", tennis courts, swimming pool, gym, parking, business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Mision de Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mision de Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.