We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting, but you really pay for it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Save Saved
You added Quinta Real Oaxaca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5 de Mayo 300, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Cambridge
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular setting, but you really pay for it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights and while exquisitely maintained, we were not upset when our stay ended and we moved to a nearby B&B. Though gorgeous -- the common spaces are picturesque and plentiful -- the rooms were small and very few amenities, if any at all, were included in the base price. No free wi-fi felt particularly absurd in this day and age.
We did not eat in the restaurant. We did use the pool, which is wonderful. And, if traveling with children, a definite plus. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Professionalism abounds. But, for the money, it is worth looking into other spots and, we think, a traveler can certainly get more for less at numerous other places in Oaxaca.
Lastly, it's worth noting that the location is wonderful, though being so central perhaps means you're less likely to get out and see more of the city.
We would not stay here again, though our stay was perfectly pleasant.

Room Tip: Figure out how to not have your huge window facing the loud street or risk being woken up when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    70
    42
    25
    8
See reviews for
47
92
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

No parking, no Internet, no quietness, no service at all, no decent beds, no space in the bathrooms but a lot of fare.
The place is amazing, and it is a total disgrace when you compare it with the rest of the hotels, like La Casona de Tita or Casa Azul.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Quinta Real in Oaxaca (previously Camino Real) and enjoyed it. It was quaint and beautiful. We were able to book tours in the hotel, which would have been nice to know ahead of the trip (since we showed up with tours fully booked) - their website needs to be integrated into the new Quinta Real company and include better information on tours and airport transportation. The food was good, with a nice buffet each morining, but rather expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed by Service!!!
We were here at the Quinta real for a family destination wedding with high expectations of the Camino Real Oaxaca. Unfortunately we were all so disappointed. Many of the rooms were filled with our family and wedding guest members. We have all extensively traveled throughout various parts if the world and have high expectations of the properties we choose. To start with the attitude of those at the front desk was as though we as guests were putting the employees out of their way. We reserved a cab for airport pick up and when we needed to change the time we were instrictest to call from our room since they were too busy to help us. Excuse me I believe that is considered service???? In the dining area the service was just simply poor. Our Tables were left not picked up throughout our meal. Unless we stacked our used dishes up to make it very noticeable that they needed clearing off, no one came. We had to get up and ask for water or condiments or other side needs. If we wanted an additional cup of coffee they wanted your room number. They 'nickel and dimed' us to death. We had a minimum of twenty people at a time diring meals it wasnt like we were trying to get away with anything Then to top it our last night here, which is tonight, ACCiDENTLY, a tall vase fell and broke next to wherebwe were sitting. The Captain on for the evening, his name Manuel, very rudely and abruptly mis-spoke with our family and friends, about paying for the vase since we broke it. Something to the effect that they were not owned by the hotel and they were on consignment and that everytimg inhe hotel was for sale???? Not our problem!!! Do not put them in the path of guests. We were sitting where we were placed by the servers. They provided us with the cushion to sit on and that is where we gathered for a last night with family. My recommendation is stay elsewhere. The rooms were nice and a very nice property but poor poor service. Bad Attitudes. Go by and visit bit they don't deserve the business.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This beautiful old convent has been converted with excellent taste and makes a perfect spot for enjoying the wonders of beautiful Oaxaca. It is just too bad that the new La Quinta Group management loses so many points by allowing the food to be pedestrian (and rather expensive) and leaving some of the needed restoration un-restored, particularly a large space for what must have been a chapel in the middle of the building which is now used for 'touristy' presentations of local music. This is totally inconsistent with the elegant mood the hotel tries to achieve.

The good news is that the place itself is so beautiful, the quiet swimming pool in the center of one of the cloisters inviting, the location perfect and helpful staff such as Emmanuel Barrita, overcoming all shortcomings with thoughtful and excellent service.

Room Tip: Try and get an inner room overlooking the pool. Beware of some current construction and ask to be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I spent five days at the La Quinta Real, over Christmas 2012. The Camino Real chain has been bought by the La Quinta group, which may account for our discontent. Our room, which was very expensive, was small and when we requested another choice we were shown to a larger room without a window. The front desk staff was not helpful in any way. Our wake up call the day of our departure was one hour late, which caused us to almost miss our flight. Their Internet charges are high and the business center closes early. My husband developed serious food poisoning after eating breakfast in their dining room. When we brought it to their attention, there was no offer to adjust the bill. All in all an expensive and unsatisfactory experience. They present themselves as five star but they are not at that level at this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The setting is beautiful , an old convent. The service is excellent . Only average food stops it from being a great hotel. Breakfast and lunch by the pool didn't reflect any of the flavours of the local cuisine .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Real Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.