We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed to say the least” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Save Saved
You added Quinta Real Oaxaca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta Real Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5 de Mayo 300, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed to say the least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed by Service!!!
We were here at the Quinta real for a family destination wedding with high expectations of the Camino Real Oaxaca. Unfortunately we were all so disappointed. Many of the rooms were filled with our family and wedding guest members. We have all extensively traveled throughout various parts if the world and have high expectations of the properties we choose. To start with the attitude of those at the front desk was as though we as guests were putting the employees out of their way. We reserved a cab for airport pick up and when we needed to change the time we were instrictest to call from our room since they were too busy to help us. Excuse me I believe that is considered service???? In the dining area the service was just simply poor. Our Tables were left not picked up throughout our meal. Unless we stacked our used dishes up to make it very noticeable that they needed clearing off, no one came. We had to get up and ask for water or condiments or other side needs. If we wanted an additional cup of coffee they wanted your room number. They 'nickel and dimed' us to death. We had a minimum of twenty people at a time diring meals it wasnt like we were trying to get away with anything Then to top it our last night here, which is tonight, ACCiDENTLY, a tall vase fell and broke next to wherebwe were sitting. The Captain on for the evening, his name Manuel, very rudely and abruptly mis-spoke with our family and friends, about paying for the vase since we broke it. Something to the effect that they were not owned by the hotel and they were on consignment and that everytimg inhe hotel was for sale???? Not our problem!!! Do not put them in the path of guests. We were sitting where we were placed by the servers. They provided us with the cushion to sit on and that is where we gathered for a last night with family. My recommendation is stay elsewhere. The rooms were nice and a very nice property but poor poor service. Bad Attitudes. Go by and visit bit they don't deserve the business.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    69
    44
    23
    8
See reviews for
50
92
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This beautiful old convent has been converted with excellent taste and makes a perfect spot for enjoying the wonders of beautiful Oaxaca. It is just too bad that the new La Quinta Group management loses so many points by allowing the food to be pedestrian (and rather expensive) and leaving some of the needed restoration un-restored, particularly a large space for what must have been a chapel in the middle of the building which is now used for 'touristy' presentations of local music. This is totally inconsistent with the elegant mood the hotel tries to achieve.

The good news is that the place itself is so beautiful, the quiet swimming pool in the center of one of the cloisters inviting, the location perfect and helpful staff such as Emmanuel Barrita, overcoming all shortcomings with thoughtful and excellent service.

Room Tip: Try and get an inner room overlooking the pool. Beware of some current construction and ask to be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I spent five days at the La Quinta Real, over Christmas 2012. The Camino Real chain has been bought by the La Quinta group, which may account for our discontent. Our room, which was very expensive, was small and when we requested another choice we were shown to a larger room without a window. The front desk staff was not helpful in any way. Our wake up call the day of our departure was one hour late, which caused us to almost miss our flight. Their Internet charges are high and the business center closes early. My husband developed serious food poisoning after eating breakfast in their dining room. When we brought it to their attention, there was no offer to adjust the bill. All in all an expensive and unsatisfactory experience. They present themselves as five star but they are not at that level at this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The setting is beautiful , an old convent. The service is excellent . Only average food stops it from being a great hotel. Breakfast and lunch by the pool didn't reflect any of the flavours of the local cuisine .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We've been going to this hotel for 17 years and even with the recent change of name to the Quinta Real the quality of service and facilities remains unchanged. It's also wonderful to see all the brides that come to have their photos taken . An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walchwil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice setting, good location, decent rooms ( some can be a bit noisy), personnel performing their duties as required but nothing more, pool area picturesque but pool very old. Overall an average hotel experience. No pezzaz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Camino Real (now Quintana Real) in December for 7 nights through Christmas 2012. It was our 5th stay at this property in 17 years and every time it continues to delight us.

We had a ground floor exterior room this time on the corridoor to the nun's washery (previously always on the first floor) and had a great room with a fabulous ambience and feeling of history. We have no hearing difficulties at all and were never disturbed by the continuous flow of incredible bridal dresses and young kids - rather it just added to the excellent feel and history of the property.

The staff again were very friendly and keen to assist at all times.

Even being there for the fabulous Radish Festival and Christmas did not add to the noise in any discernible way.

We recommend this site very highly and one not to be missed in getting a feeling for the spirit of Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms with double glazing on the Santo Domingo side are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Real Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.