We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Real Oaxaca to your Saves list
Quinta Real Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wedding review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Although we have stayed at the camino real oaxaca before we didn't write a review partly because most of the comments (extra charge for wifi etc) are below. However we recently had our civil ceremony there and it was amazing. For anyone looking for a unique and special wedding ceremony this is the place.

The staff were impeccable, in particular Yunnan Hernández who was also very attentive when we saw her, flexible and accommodating. We also chose the package of the calendar, wedding parade which was great value for money and the guests really appreciated it - thank you Yunnan

Room Tip: great wedding venue for non religious ceremonies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    74
    46
    25
    8
See reviews for
58
99
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Apr 17th and 18th, 2012. Check in was fast and efficient. The gentleman at the desk set us up with a map highlighted all the sites we came to see. All other staff interaction were friendly, but once checked in the front desk staff did not really want to be bothered with us. The setting of the hotel, however is totally worth it. Set in a convent built in 1576, it has this hushed and kind of magical feel. We loved that. The restaurant is excellent! Besides the quality of the food- it is so nice to take meals or coffee in this beautiful courtyard. Not to be missed. Rooms small but really nice. They placed us on the street so we had horrible sleeps for both nights we were there. (traffic on cobblestone streets is a nightmare) It is a huge regret that we did not get a better room. Tried to make a change, but as I mentioned the front desk staff were not helpful. Anyway, the property is so worth it- just get a courtyard room and it will be blissful. The hotel is on the better end of town, so everything is in walking distance. The shopping is excellent. Make sure to buy a fruit bowl from the street vendors. OMG- crazy good, and so cheap!

Room Tip: Unless you sleep like the dead, don't stay on street side. It can be interesting to look out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a very pleasant 6 night stay. Room was on a quiet courtyard, service was excellent (nightly turn-down with chocolates, prompt room cleaning, etc.) Very courteous staff. However, in-room WiFi was only available as an added charge, bottled water was an added charge (44 pesos), and a small Limonada in the bar was also 44 pesos. Breakfast buffet was available at $20 USD. Currency exchange was available, but rate was not very competitive. I would stay again for the ambience, but beware of added expenses.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Its always so immediatly apparent when a hotel is being poorly managed. The staff has no spark which leaves quite a few bad first impressions.
I was approached twice during the check in process to buy activities.
The bell person informed us that the water bottle was free but extra water was additional. Well, I can live with that. Then he showed us the coffee maker and told us the first package of coffee was free but then they charge you for additional coffee.
Lunch was lackluster and uninspiring and the waiter lacked personality There is only one white wine by the glass to choose from and yet they tout their gourmet food.
Now I come to find out that Internet access is approximately 11 US dollars per day, per device.
I decided to pay the money and use some of my time to complaine about it. It only seems fitting.
I've only been at this hotel for 3 1/2 hours and already I am disappointed.
So part of our adventure in Oaxaca is going to be checking out other hotels.
This is a 'nickel and dime you to death' hotel.
Its really too bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Staying here for two nights

The hotel is beautiful and public areas great

The rooms are old. Tv signal very poor, tub not working and they charge for internet. The whatever brand of water in the room is 44 but maybe thats normal

Go for the beauty of the building but not for five star treatment

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel, pricey but good and it delivers what you expect for the price. My room Was noisy as it was on street level and the windows were next to the sidewalk where there was great activity all night (traffic, people yelling, trash cans being dragged...) that made it very hard to have a nice sleep, so pick your room carefully there.

Beautiful architecture and Great breakfast.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

If you are having a wedding, then this is the hotel for you. Whilst we stayed , three weddings went underway at once. If however you are not having a wedding or are not part of a wedding party then as far as the staff are concerned, you are invisible and of no consequence. The rooms are very large and very dark and badly in need of a refit. The hotel public areas are depressingly dark and heavy. No doubt it was once an amazing convent, but it’s not an amazing hotel. There are far better and more up to date hotels to stay in. We walked passed some on the way to the town square. But the town, its buildings, people, food, shops must all be seen and experienced. Incredible. Beautiful. A must see for any visitor to Mexico

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Real Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Oaxaca

Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 300 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quinta Real Oaxaca you can enjoy Los Naranjos Garden Los Lavaderos Garden Swimming pool El Refectorio Restaurant. From 07:00 -22:30 hrs. Las Novicias Bar. Monday- Saturday from 17:00 - 00:00 hrs. Sunday from 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. Swimming pool everyday From 08:00 - 20:00 hrs Acentua que actividades se pueden hacer cerca del hotel I you rent a car or travel in taxi, you can do this activities: Monte Alban (Zona Arqueologica)20 min. By car. Mitla (Zona Arqueologica)45 min. By car. Arbol del Tule (Arbol Milenario)20 min. By car. Hierve El Agua (Cascadas Petrificadas)1 hora con 30 min. By car. Teotitlan del Valle (Tapetes de lana)35 min. By car. San Bartolo Coyotepec (Barro Negro)20 min. By car. • Distancia que pueden hacer caminando (walking distance) Visitar el Zocalo de la Cuidad. 300 Mts. (984 Ft) Caminar Sobre el Andador Turistico. 70 Mts.(229 Ft) Visitar Catedral de la cuidad. 300 Mts.(984 Ft) Mercado 20 de Noviembre. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Mercado Benito Juarez. 400 Mts.(1312 Ft) Santo Domingo church. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) Etnobotanico Garden. 70 Mts. (229 Ft) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quinta Real Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Camino Real Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Real Oaxaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.