We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Pilares Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Pilares Hotel

Save Saved
You added Los Pilares Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Pilares Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Curtidurias 721-A | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Los Pilares Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently stayed 6 nights at this hotel. We loved the ambience and the staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We chose this hotel because of the quiet location, about 10 blocks from the zocolo, approximately a 10-15 minute walk, so noise was not an issue. Our room was fairly large, with a firm king size bed, a refridgerator in the room, and a good bathroom with a strong shower. There is a restaurant upstairs which serves a good breakfast, not included in the room price, but is inexpensive. The hotel does arrange day trips with a car and driver who speaks good English. I would definitely stay here again. It is great value for the money.

Room Tip: We liked it because it was far enough away from the zocolo to not be noisey, but close enough to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

What a gem of a hotel! This lovely lodging is located several blocks from the Zocalo. We enjoyed our daily walks (great for burning off all that Oaxacan cheese, tequila and chocolate), and really appreciated the peace and quiet of our surroundings at Los Pilares.

Our room was beautiful and immaculate, with a lovely bathroom, king bed, TV, mini-fridge, A/C, and just off our bedroom, a jetted tub complete with candles and bubble bath! (Not all rooms have the tub, but it was worth the little bit extra we paid for it.) Fresh bottled water appeared in our room daily.

The atmosphere was exquisite. The hotel is always filled with gorgeous, sweet-scented lilies, with candles burning in the entry way. There is a pretty bar set up inside the hotel on the main level (not noisy at all!) and we enjoyed a nightcap there,

The breakfast on the upstairs terrace was always delicious, with friendly service. We were surrounded by pretty plants and flowers. One of my morning favourites was the squash-blossom stuffed crepes with poblano sauce and Oaxacan cheese, and I drank delicious chocolate caliente every morning. The papaya was also excellent.

There is also a small pool and hot tub on the roof terrace. We didn't get to try them but they looked inviting.

I can't say enough good things about the staff. They are highly professional, attentive and welcoming, always with smiles on their faces. When we returned at night, the fellow at the front desk would often be waiting right at the entrance with our room keys. He must have heard us coming up the street! Such attention to detail. They really aim to please here.

I brought along teabags on this trip, as I find it difficult to get a decent cup of tea in Mexico. My hubby would go off with teabag, and the front desk staff would obligingly boil some water and get milk for my tea. I was spoiled by both spouse and staff.

It's a small thing, but I also really appreciated the good lighting in our room. I have never seen so many light switches in a hotel room! There were great reading lamps on either side of the bed, and a multitude of other lights to set the mood. No fluorescent glare in there!

We stayed at the hotel with two other friends and they were equally effusive about Los Pilares. If I return to Oaxaca, I will definitely stay here again. I can't say enough good things about the place. It's a gorgeous oasis in the hubbub of Oaxaca.

Room Tip: The big jetted bathtub is worth the extra pesos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Very good value for the price, simple, clean and well located

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Charming, old-fashioned and friendly little hotel with lovely staff and great service, a few minutes walk into the fascinating town of Oaxaca, crammed full of restaurants, bars, art galleries and craft shops. Five minutes walk the other way from the hotel is the town's cemetery - not usually something in favour of a hotel, but it was during the Day of the Dead celebrations at the beginning of November.

There was a beautiful altar of flowers, fruit and imitation skulls built in the hotel foyer when I arrived and as I relaxed by the little swimming pool on the first floor, sipping a cool Modelo Negro beer, I could already hear the bands warming up outside.

Soon traffic had ground to a horn-honking standstill as colourful parades, led by thumping brass bands, with dancing revellers dressed as skeletons, ghosts, monsters and all sorts of frightening devils and demons, began winding through the narrow streets.

Meanwhile down at the cemetery, they were having one helluva party to welcome back their deceased ancestors! There were certainly plenty of spirits there. Don't know about the Day of the Dead, but after being invited to drink several glasses of strong mescal, I felt half dead the following morning.

If you are in Mexico, I'd recommend a visit to Oaxaca - and stay at Los Pilares.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxaca, oaxaca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Recently had a small tour group stay here of Day of the Dead. I expected the hotel to be great but it went way beyond. The hotel was full of fresh flowers, they had a beautiful altar, and the service was superb - they seemed to anticipate our needs, they did many extra things for the group and were always - I mean ALWAY - a pleasure to deal with.
The desk would call taxis ( 30 pesos) so no one felt that they we "out" of the center of things.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

The hotel is very well located...not in the downtown, but is 10 blocks from downton and 3 blocks from Santo Domingo where all the main activities occurs in Oaxaca. The hotel is kind of boutique with 15 rooms, amenities, tv with cable, air conditioned, and many beauty details. Hugliy recommended for price, location and good appareince

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

The hotel and the folks running this place are fantastic. It's an elegant Colonial hotel located in the quiet part of town - a six minute walk to the city center - which means alot in this city. There´s a pool and jacuzzi, and a business center. All of the rooms have Sky television and wi-fi connection. The restaurant is upstairs on the roof terrace with great views of the city and there´s a cozy bar downstairs. The chef prepares traditional Oaxacan dishes and international food. I've stayed in Oaxaca five times and nothing compares. The place really is the best kept secret in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Pilares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Pilares Hotel

Address: Curtidurias 721-A | Col. Jalatlaco, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Pilares Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Los Pilares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Pilares Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.