We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost better than home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Don Nino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Don Nino to your Saves list
Hostel Don Nino
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pino Suarez 804 | Col.centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
munich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost better than home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my third time at the hostel. It is certainly one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in, friendly and professional staff, super clean, good breakfast in the restaurant included in the price, great kitchen and social area on the roof, free Mezcal shots every night at the bar, lots of amenities such as plasma screens and cozy corners, ample computers, opposite the park and the Friday market, and nearby the first bus station. Excellent value and I am looking forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: When the dorms are full it gets a bit crowded and stuffy. Try to get a room with the window facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    29
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
25
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great Hostel/hotel, ultra clean, friendly staff, wifi and internet access, awesome kitchen / social area on the roof, great breakfast, what else do you need? how about free Mezcal shots everynight at the bar! Private rooms cost a little more than dorms, as I was to stay for 4weeks I chose to keep my mess out and unpack my bag so opted for a single room & share the bathroom. At $350peso a night it was well worth it, had my own tv and fan, fresh bathtowel daily, and adequate size private room while still enjoying the social of other travellers in the communal areas. The staff are very friendly and helpful, thanks to all the guys on reception for making me feel at home and for all your advise for getting around Oaxaca and most of all, thanks for all the laughs. The hostel is located in a great location - everything is a walk away. Only negative is breakfast main meal is mostly always eggs, this would be great if only staying for a few days, but after 4 weeks, I dont want to see anymore eggs! Restaurant waiter & service was also excellent and attentive. I will definately be returning in future when I take up further Spanish classes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room. It looked more like a hotel than a hostel room. It had TV, hair dryer, soap/shampoo... The shower was great. Breakfast was generous. The place is very clean. The wi-fi works in the rooms. Also, there's an ATM in the lobby, which is very handy.
Walking distance from the bus terminal. 10 minute walk to the main square.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ho chi minh city
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

One of the best hostels in Mexico. The staff are very friendly and helpful there are great common areas and everything is very secure. The location is handy to town and the bus terminal so you dont need a taxi. The showers are excellent and they include towels and soap etc in the price. Everything here is done very well, does get a little hot sometimes but this is a minor complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived late at night and picked Don Nino because it was close to the (long distance) bus station. So pleased we did - welcomed by the friendliest night porter I've ever met and very well looked after throughout the stay. The breakfasts are generous, the cable channels are extensive (and good for a bit of brain rest after pounding the streets / villages), the fans are effective and the garden at the back is very peaceful. It is on a lovely square with a Friday market and if the sound of bells from the nearby church is likely to bother you, take earplugs. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights and people were friendly and the place is very very clean. All day long ladies are busy cleaning..
They prepare a towel, shampoo, conditioner and bodywasher for you.
So you don't need anything there.
Every morning they serve good meal with friut, egg, beans, coffee, cereal..ect..
Bed and blanket are clean and warm enough. Each bed has a night light so you won't bother other people to wake up at night
Also, the location is close to ADO bus station so you don't have to take a taxi. And, if you can just walk about 5~10mins, you can reach anywhere you want.
One thing I was a bit disappointed is that you have to pay for taking shower including using the internet after check out (50 pesos) / and if you need to do the laundary, it costs 40pesos/kg.

Room Tip: Any rooms are good even 12-bedroom is also perfect to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

it is nice place, near the bus station, park and very relaxing for me during my travel.
I booked the private single, included hot shower, soap, towel, bottled water, air condition, free wifi and breadfast. And it was quiet in the area. In this block, the convinent store was found around the park and the HSBC was also noted. Of course the best rate of currency in mexico is bank(USD:mex 1:11.65), not in the hostel(USD: mex 1: 11). THe hostel is also included restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Don Nino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Don Nino

Address: Pino Suarez 804 | Col.centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Don Nino 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will receive a wide range of hotel services at Hostel Don Nino. Even the most sophisticated of your needs will be fulfilled. Hostel Don Nino offers you Hotel Rooms & Hostel Dorms in a period propertyrecently remodeled with contemporary facilities; opened in December 2008 located in a convenient and pleasant area away from the hustle and bustle of the central commercial district down but still inside the “Centro Histórico” Historic Area of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Don Nino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Don Nino Hotel Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Don Nino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.