We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gigi Guest House

Save Saved
You added Casa Gigi Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Gigi Guest House
518 Las Rosas | Colonia Reforma, Oaxaca 68050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Xmas and the hospitality of Gigi and her family are second to none. All the guests were invited to share in a Xmas Eve dinner with the family and it felt like we were with friends. When we were checking out the hosts were so kind to let us stay in our room until well into the evening as we had a late night bus to catch, without charging us another night - a rarity in many hotels or hostels! The rooms were always clean and the beds comfy, and the property had a nice garden to sit in. The family also had the cutest and friendliest little dog. The location is in a pretty neighbourhood, with cafes nearby, and it was an easy walk into the centre which was great for exercise. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here over the New Year 2010/2011 The rooms are clean, comfortable and have a simple but traditional feel to them in terms of decor. The relaxed atmosphere of the garden area is great for chilling out. However, the best thing about this place are the owners. They invited me to share New Years Eve meal with them and their family, offered me a nice glass of wine and a chat and basically made me feel as if I was a friend rather than a guest. Breakfast was quality too.

The venue is a bit of a walk (7 mins) from the centre but that is a good thing. I would highly recommend this place and will stay there when I visit Oaxaca again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Casa gigi is a hidden gem. Family owned in a peaceful part of Oaxaca. Prices are good and breakfast, although simple, is good and plenty.
We stayed for three nights and liked the place immediately.

Would recommend going here to everybody!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alken, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Casa Gigi is a beautiful place to stay. The hostel is situated outside of the centre. It takes a 15 – 20 minutes’ walk to the Zocalo. You take the bus to get in the centre. Gigi is the perfect hostess. She speaks very good English and likes everything very clean. The whole family is very friendly. The rooms are very clean and lovely. You have your own bathroom and a comfy seat beyond the window. Wifi has no strong signal, but if you sit in the nice seat it is ok. They have a little garden with some birds in cages and a cat. You can sit in the garden. Breakfast was delicious. You get lots of fruit, granola, yoghurt, toast and coffee or tea. I would highly recommend this place. It’s a wonderful place to stay: a great neighborhood, lovely people, very safe, …

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

My first week in Oaxaca I stayed in the Centro at the fabulous Diablo Sandia.. I stayed several more weeks and found Casa Gigi, a bit less cost for a longer term stay, a little further from the center, but still totally walkable, in a great residential neighborhood.. The accommodations are lovely, clean and comfortable, quiet with a charming garden.. Gigi is a special, warm, nurturing and generous woman who took great care of me as a single lady in a new city!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

This was a marvelous place to stay. The location was in a quiet, nice neighborhood a little north of the center, but an easy (and delightful) 15- to 20-minute walk downtown. 5-10 minutes by bus, which you can catch a block away. Plenty of little places to eat in the neighborhood as well.

The rooms are not fancy but are everything you need -- you have your own bathroom, the bed is comfortable, and the rooms are kept *spotless.* There is an absolutely beautiful courtyard with birds (parakeets in cages as well as ones that fly free in the trees) and the occasional very shy cats. You also get a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola (and coffee or tea).

The Wi-Fi can sometimes be a little spotty if you are in a corner of the room, but works fine if you sit by the window (and there's a comfortable chair in your room to do so). If it's nice out, you can sit in the courtyard, which is a real treat to begin with.

This is a family-owned place, and the owner is very helpful, and just a lovely person altogether. I'm sure you can find more luxurious accommodations, but I don't know if you can find a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My son and I stayed at the Gigi. Gigi and her husband were very friendly and helpful - her husband is English, and Gigi speaks perfect English. the breakfasts were generous fruit and coffee and cereal. It was good to meet up with other guests at the table. The hot water was a little temperamental (you had to pick a time when there wasn't a rush on the showers), and the water pressure wasn't great. The rooms were basic but very clean, and the setting was quiet. It's actually a bit of a hike uphill from the Zocalo, but only about 35 pesos, or even better 2 or 4 pesos (can't remember which) on the bus, which is very easy. Great base to explore Oaxaca.

the family is very well travelled and have obviously been in the business a long time, but it hasn't stopped them being warm and friendly and helpful

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Gigi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gigi Guest House

Address: 518 Las Rosas | Colonia Reforma, Oaxaca 68050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hola! Welcome to Casa Gigi Bed & BreakfastLocated within walking distance of Oaxaca's beautiful historical colonial centre. Casa Gigi Bed and Breakfast also offers beautiful tranquil surroundings for those wishing to lie back and soak up the sun or have a siesta after a hard day's site-seeing.As small family run guest house, Casa Gigi offers a personal and homely feel to your stay.Casa Gigi has 8 double and single occupancy private en-suite guest rooms and prices include a freshly prepared breakfast.We are close to a number of cafe's and bars as well as a many local restaurants. We also have free in-room wireless connection for guests wishing to use their own computers.A large range of activities and trips can be arranged on short notice through our local tour agents.Rooms from, $25-$30 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Casa Gigi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gigi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.