We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no-window rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Don Mario

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Don Mario to your Saves list
Posada Don Mario
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Cosijopi 219, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no-window rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

i was in posada don mario in august and, although i understand it costs less than most hotels in the area, i wouldn't recommend it. most rooms are stuffy because they don't have real windows - they open to the hallway.
the fans are not very efficient, so it is very hot in the summer. it was clean, but be prepared for old sheets and old towels. again, this might not be a problem considering the good price and the good location, but had I been aware of the quality of the service, i'd have chosen something else. the owner was extremely rude to my mexican friends and their children, so i would think twice about chosing posada don mario for a family trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bixbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Udine, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were in Oxaca in August for three days and I can say that we were pleasingly surprised by the hepfulness and kidness of the girls running this Posada, who were always ready to give us all information we needed. Rooms were cleaned and neat (and this is very important for me!!), colourful and very nice. The common area is a nice courtyard with plants, tables, a little and useful library and a computer with internet (wi-fi was also available). Breakfast was included in our room fare and was very good. We definetely recommend this posada to all travelers. It is my first raccomendation on trip advisor and I am glad I can do this for this posada in particular!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calinerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Posada Don Mario is a charming and relaxing place in a great location to retreat to after full days of exploring Oaxaca City and its surroundings. The women of Don Mario are particularly helpful and friendly. A nice courtyard, balconies, roof-top views, comfortable rooms, drinking water and clean bathrooms make Don Mario a nice place to stay. We recommend this place and will definitely return on our next trip to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Posada Don Mario is a great place to stay in an ideal location. They were very kind to me when I had troubles. There is a pretty courtyard, spotless rooms, good breakfast- what more could you ask for? I was there in mid-June, a low tourist season, and so there were few guests, but it should be a popular spot when tourism is high. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonVanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Glad I landed here. The staff was very attentive to my every need, which was substantial-I arrived with a broken foot. All the wonderful women at the Posada went out of their way to see that I was comfortable and well fed. La Senora personally took me to get crutches! The breakfasts are great, the beds-comfortable and everything is freshly painted and well-kept. The location is one of the best in town, close but not too close. The Posada Don Mario is a great resource, they boast a degree in tourism and routinely help travelers make the next connection. They have courtesy high-speed internet and an old beat-up Michoacan guitar that I tuned up. Also a nice 'information center' with maps, a small library, there are snacks and drinks in the lobby and free water for guests. I had my first hot shower in three months.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnswift60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
as yet unknown
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was a charming place with nice decor and a good vibe. The daughter of the owner was particularly nice. The owner herself was a bit prickly, but maybe she was just stressed out. The rooms are all created equal, as some I believe don't have proper windows. Ours was gorgeous though and the best room in the place, with a little balcony on the second floor. The roof had a good view but wasn't comfortable for hanging out - it was just where they did the laundry. A charming courtyard and a good location - far enough away from the zocolo to be quiet, but not too far. The owner was a little bit unreasonable in that she wouldn't give us two sets of keys, but then got annoyed when once of us needed to be let in in the afternoons. We didn't do every single thing together, as we were there for two weeks. If you can't give two keys, fine, but don't get annoyed when someone then comes to the gate at 6pm, when you're open anyway. The place was clean although the bathrooms could have been seen to more regularly, given the high traffic.They play loud music all morning and in the evenings that you can't escape from. Stuff like Enya and cheesey love songs from the 80s ("It must have been love, but it's oooooverrrr nooooowwww", etc). This can be nice but, as its inescapable, also sometimes annoying. I would stay there again though. Its a great deal for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that face the courtyard or the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unexpectedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Oaxaca! The owners and staff were great to us. It's a family atmosphere and the breakfast was good too... hey, there's even a guitar there in the courtyard for you to play!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deosolideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#26 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#34 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#39 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#2 of 110 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Villas del Sol
Hotel Villas del Sol
#44 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Mario

Address: Cosijopi 219, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Don Mario 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Don Mario, an ideal place to stay, is the house where the famous Oaxaca painter Rufino Tamayo was born in. The service at the Posada as well as its availability and price make it your best option for somewhere to stay. Situated in Carmen Alto, it is the only completely colonial area of the Historical Center of the City of Oaxaca.From the rooftop of the Posada Don Mario you can enjoy a wonderful view of the places mentioned above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Posada Don Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing