We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly and immacculate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Don Mario

Save Saved
You added Posada Don Mario to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Don Mario
Cosijopi 219, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 86 Specialty lodging in Oaxaca
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, friendly and immacculate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Posada Don Mario is a great place to stay in an ideal location. They were very kind to me when I had troubles. There is a pretty courtyard, spotless rooms, good breakfast- what more could you ask for? I was there in mid-June, a low tourist season, and so there were few guests, but it should be a popular spot when tourism is high. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
20
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Glad I landed here. The staff was very attentive to my every need, which was substantial-I arrived with a broken foot. All the wonderful women at the Posada went out of their way to see that I was comfortable and well fed. La Senora personally took me to get crutches! The breakfasts are great, the beds-comfortable and everything is freshly painted and well-kept. The location is one of the best in town, close but not too close. The Posada Don Mario is a great resource, they boast a degree in tourism and routinely help travelers make the next connection. They have courtesy high-speed internet and an old beat-up Michoacan guitar that I tuned up. Also a nice 'information center' with maps, a small library, there are snacks and drinks in the lobby and free water for guests. I had my first hot shower in three months.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
as yet unknown
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was a charming place with nice decor and a good vibe. The daughter of the owner was particularly nice. The owner herself was a bit prickly, but maybe she was just stressed out. The rooms are all created equal, as some I believe don't have proper windows. Ours was gorgeous though and the best room in the place, with a little balcony on the second floor. The roof had a good view but wasn't comfortable for hanging out - it was just where they did the laundry. A charming courtyard and a good location - far enough away from the zocolo to be quiet, but not too far. The owner was a little bit unreasonable in that she wouldn't give us two sets of keys, but then got annoyed when once of us needed to be let in in the afternoons. We didn't do every single thing together, as we were there for two weeks. If you can't give two keys, fine, but don't get annoyed when someone then comes to the gate at 6pm, when you're open anyway. The place was clean although the bathrooms could have been seen to more regularly, given the high traffic.They play loud music all morning and in the evenings that you can't escape from. Stuff like Enya and cheesey love songs from the 80s ("It must have been love, but it's oooooverrrr nooooowwww", etc). This can be nice but, as its inescapable, also sometimes annoying. I would stay there again though. Its a great deal for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that face the courtyard or the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Oaxaca! The owners and staff were great to us. It's a family atmosphere and the breakfast was good too... hey, there's even a guitar there in the courtyard for you to play!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Posada Don Mario is a quiet, comfortable, family-run guest house. I have stayed here several times over the years. If you are looking for something located in the historic center that is affordable and good value then I would recommend it. A pretty decent hot breakfast is included (I always chose the Mexican breakfast, not the continental). It's about 2.5 blocks from Santo Domingo, maybe 5 from the cathedral. It's clean. It has a nice sunny balcony and rooftop area where you can lounge. The staff is always very friendly and helpful with any kind of request. It is not a party hostel or even a hostel of any sort, it is a guesthouse. Most of the people I have seen there are couples or maybe a little older. I like it because I like to rest, read, get some work done in a peaceful quiet environment. I guess my only recommendation would be to ask for an extra blanket when you arrive since Oaxaca get's pretty chilly at night during certain months of the year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

As I was about to post a review of my pleasant stay in Oaxaca, I noticed another...("like a cell").......I emphatically request that you remove it from your site...what sort of person writes a hit-piece about a $25 Mexican Posada?..
The inaccuracies contained in this venomous diatribe are reason enough to remove the review before it does fiscal damage to the victims of it, and discourages other visitors from visiting a very nice Posada.
I gladly take this opportunity to describe, accurately, the Posada Don Mario as I found it in June 2011.
In the 70's I would walk 5-10 K with my backpack just to save a buck, now I'll give that buck to a taxi driver, it's good for Mexico, and it's definately good for me. I consider the Posada Don Mario to be a well-spent $25. They don't pretend to be a suitcase hotel or the cheapest night's sleep in town, although the entirely satisfactory, (& complimentary) breakfast is a money saver and of equal importance perhaps, it brings the guests together in the morning for 'cultural exchange'. It is genuine comfort, care and service in a family-friendly environment. During my week there, two young backpacking couples with nursing babies' stayed with us, it was a delight, (they had been turned away from other places.) They are a family-owned-family-run Posada and La Senora and her daughter live there-it's their home. Posada Don Mario has a premium location, the perfect distance from the Zocalo, (quiet at night), a world-class view from the roof patio, good internet, fans, and everything is mopped everyday, usually by a Oaxacanera maid, returned from the US, where she lived for decades-she speaks fair English and is a good cook. The traditional, festive, Mexican pastel-palate is in full-play throughout, my room had coral and turquoise walls with purple acscents....muy alegre baby.!
It's highly educated staff includes a university degree in tourism. They are a class act and the only place in Oaxaca to respond to my email inquiries prior to my trip. Attentive to my every need, these smart, powerful, beautiful women run a very good business, and it's my new home in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This hotel is a charming little posada within walking distance of the zocalo. Norma and her staff are friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable and includes breakfast. The rooms are basic but clean and it is quiet. A room on the third floor will give you a 360 degree view of Oaxaca. The dramatic skies and sunsets are free!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Don Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Mario

Address: Cosijopi 219, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 86 Specialty lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Don Mario, an ideal place to stay, is the house where the famous Oaxaca painter Rufino Tamayo was born in. The service at the Posada as well as its availability and price make it your best option for somewhere to stay. Situated in Carmen Alto, it is the only completely colonial area of the Historical Center of the City of Oaxaca.From the rooftop of the Posada Don Mario you can enjoy a wonderful view of the places mentioned above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Posada Don Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Don Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.